• Shop Amazon

Chillaxing on the Fourth

Happy 4th of July! What an amazingly beautiful weekend! Ben and I are starting some MUCH NEEDED R&R and made the most of the terrific temperatures and sunshine. Right now I have the bed made up with fresh sheets hung on the line and I’m listening to the cracking and popping of the neighborhood fireworks. Not a bad way to spend a Sunday, err Monday night.

We really haven’t had any vacation yet this year – our original plans were halted with Matt’s surgery – and now we’re feeling the effects of so many months without a decent break. You go a little (ok a lot) nuts. Maybe more me than Ben though 🙂 There’s nothing quite like a Monday that feels like a Sunday except you don’t have to go back to work the next day. Ahhhh yes.

I’ve mentioned before that Ben and I play a global geocaching-esque game and one of the things we’ve been doing more of us visiting nearby towns to complete “day missions” where you drive around visiting various landmarks and gain badges that make little pictures. It’s been a fun way to find new parks, walking trails, and other interesting historical features around the area.

We started with the obvious ones though…

070

This weekend we grabbed Mom and Matt and went to an adorable little town slightly north of Green Bay called Algoma. It’s on the bay and has amazing views of the water.

019

I told Ben we should move. Ha Ha

020

Seriously though, I wouldn’t get sick of seeing that every morning (except maybe it wouldn’t have the same effect in January?).

Ben and I picked up a small box of fireworks and the folks picked up some as well so we spent yesterday launching half of them off the dock. Dad has to work tomorrow so we figured it was better than rushing things tonight. Now we still have the other half for this coming weekend too. Spreads out the fun.

007

Now that we’ve done a little relaxing, it’s time to get down to business tomorrow. We realized our to-do list is getting increasingly long. When we get home from work at night, we’re both tired and that’s been the same story for quite a while. So this week I have quite the lengthy and probably overly ambitious list of chores I’d like to do. We’re going to try for a day or two away doing something fun, but I really wanted to knock some things off the chore front. It’s kind of amazing how much time some of these seemingly little things take to complete.

Like last year’s project of re-painting the deck. We spent hundreds of dollars on stain remover, renting power washers and sanders, buying a sander and all the papers and equipment, plus the TEN gallons of paint stain guaranteed to last 20 years. It was a killer project that ended up being what we think contributed to all of Ben’s back issues but the saving grace was that at least we wouldn’t have to do it again for a couple decades…

025026

028

That’s the unfortunate story around the entire deck. It was a super-thick application that was almost rubbery once applied and we had such high hopes. Not even a year later and it’s all cracking and flaking right up. I guess we were supposed to apply for the warranty within 60 days of purchase (and we didn’t) but we have the store receipts and all the empty buckets so we’re going to try calling the company and seeing if there’s anything that can be done.

Another “fun” project is organizing my pantry. We’ve had things beginning to be stacked in the bar room and in the kitchen because there simply is no room left for anything. Time to sort, toss, and take inventory of what we have. I hate these kinds of projects but I know it needs to be done.

008

Now that our lilacs are done blooming, I really need to cut back the bushes. Not only are they ridiculously overgrown but they are hindering my ability to walk out into the backyard.

066

The big storm from last week seemed to cause branches on our larger trees to sag and we really need to do some serious pruning. This may require a call to my folks – it’s likely more than Ben and I can tackle with a hand pruner.

065

My garden is a cesspool of weeds, my driver’s license expires next month (I still haven’t gotten around to changing my last name!), we have to have our well inspected and tested before the end of this month, more shrubs need removing and flowers need planting. I have a Dr’s appointment, a massage for me, and facial for Ben scheduled. Oh, and our dishwasher just broke. It’s 22 years old so probably time to shop for a new one.

I’m tired just looking at this list. We’ll see how I do over this week. HOT temps on the way so probably some indoor stuff for the early part of the week at least.

Wish me luck.

2 Responses

  1. Oh my – you do have quite a list of chores to tackle. Take your time and they will eventually get taken care of. I always have things to do around our house – it’s a never ending chore. Good luck and don’t overwork yourself and Ben.

  2. That sucks about the deck stain! I hope you can get some resolution from the company!

Leave a Reply

