• Shop Amazon

Settling into the new year

011

How is 2016 treating you so far? It’s been a long week getting back into the usual flow after having had such a long and leisurely rest. Ben and I had our least eventful New Years ever – but that was my fault. I had a mini break-down and we opted to stay home together rather than venture out to party with friends. Instead we got a take-and-bake pizza, a couple small snackies, and played Minecraft while blaring music in our office. Ben coaxed me to stay awake and we sauntered downstairs at 11:55pm so we could tune into the Chicago NYE countdown just before midnight.

happy new year 16

We got a big snowstorm just a couple days after Christmas so although we didn’t have a white Christmas, the brown didn’t last much beyond that. Ben and I managed to get our errands in early but we still were driving home at the start of the storm – which ended up dumping over 9 inches (or a foot, or 18″ depending on who you talk to). I don’t know what the official amount was, but it was a good storm.

002

Just 30 minutes into the day and a half of snowfall:

003

Hard to believe this was a couple days before Christmas:

015

Winter’s here forever now, ha ha.

I started this year in a bit of a low spot, I’ve got to tell you that 2013-2015 were just miserable years. I’m so hopeful for better things in 2016. You can wear a game face for only so long before you can feel some of the light crackle right on out of you. Normally I have some idea of a plan of attack or resolution or ideas of what I want to accomplish in the new year. It always feels the same though so I’ve been taking a step back, reading some interesting articles, and am trying to be thoughtful in how I approach ’16.

And then I bought a puzzle – because I LOVE puzzles and I never ever do them. I cleared off the kitchen table and took it over with a Christmas stamp puzzle. Here’s my progress (and yes, we’re eating dinner on the coffee table in our family room until I finish it. hee hee):

001

I don’t know why, but it was random and it feels awesome. We somehow discovered a great radio station we didn’t know existed and I am enjoying a cup of decaf at night and my puzzle.

We also joined a new gym. We’d both been at a cheap gym for a while ($20 each/month) that had a location downtown and another in the city where Ben works. I liked it because it had saltwater pools and a sauna, a cardio theater with a huge screen, and a bunch of fitness classes. Want to know how many times I swam, sat in the sauna, or used the theater combined?? ZERO. While I used to love BodyPump and BodyCombat, after a while they feel so repetitive that I lost all interest in going. The result? I haven’t been to the gym in months (like 8, to be exact). Ben is self motivated and had been going 3x/week during lunch but he quit too and we joined a gym only a few miles from our house so we could go together after work. So far we’ve gone Monday and today. I’ll let you know in 8 months how it looks. 😉

Sometimes it’s a random thing that you need to perk you right up. Right after my gloom of new years, we received a late Christmas box from our vacation friends. Ben and I had talked about how time got away from us and our tradition of buying a new ornament each year fell to the wayside…

How ironic that our dear friends somehow knew this was exactly what we needed. ❤

010

So, yeah. I think this will be an interesting year. I haven’t gotten it all figured out but I’ll sit back and see how it all folds in together. I like to have some sort of goal or vision but I don’t want to set goals that will be failures to achieve. We’ll see.

Phew, Ok I am beat from an hour on the elliptical (my knee is not happy either). Time to settle in and head to bed. Good night all!

One Response

  1. It sounds like you are starting 2016 in a good way. Keep it going. I know it can be quite a challenge. I’m hoping I can kick it into gear myself.

Leave a Reply

