• Shop Amazon

6-0 Is Awesome!

It was a dark and windy Monday morning – but this Wisconsin gal was feeling pretty good coming off another Packer win. I’ll admit, the Seahawks losing again didn’t feel too bad either. 😉

I’ve been so bad at blogging lately and I apologize. With the leg rehab being slow and boring, each day has essentially been like this:

  1. go to work
  2. come home and sit on the couch
  3. perform some combo of ice / biofreeze / heat packs / stretching / foam rolling

There! Now you’re all caught up! In all seriousness, it’s been a rough stretch and I’m learning that when I’m in one of those weird funks the last thing I want to do is pretend to be perky and happy for you readers. Maybe a little meh is okay once in a while but no one wants to read week after week of misery and the onset of pre-Winter depression.

This weekend I was finally downloading pictures and realized that there have been some fun things that are worth sharing, so I’m kicking myself in the butt and trying to get back into the early morning routine.

Yesterday Ben and I sat on the couch with our Packer towels and shouted and grimaced all the way to the very end… Last week we were AT the game!

Ben’s folks got the St Louis game as part of the Brown County ticket drawing and we had planned to meet Ben’s folks at the game for a bit of tailgating beforehand. A little backstory, Ben grew up in the GB area but I transplanted here after college. You would think after all those years we’d know more about what’s shaking in our town but we don’t. Just last year we discovered this beautiful, wonderful thing called the GB Metro. I know, I know. BUT – during Packer home games they stop the regular bus routes and make new routes that pick people up and drop them off right outside Lambeau Field. Oh yeah, and it’s all free!

Parking around the stadium is a nightmare and I’ve never really liked the idea of parking in a random person’s front lawn with other cars squeezed tight on either side of me. I can only imagine a semi-drunk person getting to their vehicle before me and smashing the entire side in. No thank you. The bus route has been amazing. They have a pick-up at a bar about 4 miles from our house and we just parked, hopped on, and sat pressed like sardines enroute to the game.

112

Last weekend was beautifully warm and we really couldn’t have asked for a better day to be at a game in October. It was sunny and in the mid-70s so we packed on the sunscreen and left our jackets at home!

107

Our seats were pretty fabulous. We had rows 1 and 2 in our section – and seats 1 and 2 in those rows. That meant no one in front of me and the main steps just to the left. We were just on the curve in the South end zone and overhead had an up-close view of the jumbo-tron.

I really, really wished I’d made some kind of sign because the camera guy was RIGHT THERE and I bet I could have convinced him to swing it over and get a quick shot. Next time!!

106

As beautiful and sunny as it was in the North end zone, it was equally un-sunny and WINDY in the South. Holy cow! They gave us breast cancer rally towels and I wrapped them around my arms to keep the goosebumps under control. Brrrr. You can see how half of the bowl was in the shade and our section – way, way up high – was swirling that wind around.

110

But, we were still excited to be at the game. And we’re so cute ❤ lol

102In my opinion one of the best parts of a game is when they have a good flyover right after the National Anthem. We lucked out!!

104There were lots of good plays and general merriment all around. We ended up in a good section without howdy or crazy-drunk fans.
104Then they announced over the intercom that it was time to “check under your seats” for Packer turf or something… You know, those silly things they do that no one you ever know ever wins? My back still doesn’t like full on bending over, but I reached down and felt around and didn’t win. Not surprising. We went on our merry way until one of the security women came by, stared me down and SCREAMED at me to check under my seat. Red-faced and a little shocked, I reached back around, felt everywhere – nothing?? But then I looked way over on the side closest to the walkway and found this plastic turf taped up against the side. Guess who was a winner?!

As embarrassed as I felt with the lady howling at me, it turns out 5 people in our section won and none of them round their turf either (my mother in law too)! Associated Bank was sponsoring the event and they sent a gal down to find us and make sure everyone retrieved their turf. From there we were corralled down to the atrium (in the middle of the game) and posed for pictures while they got everyone registered.

turf pictureWith our winning turf comes a trip back to Lambeau for a meet-and-greet event with Jordy Nelson, Randall Cobb, and Davante Adams in December. How cool is that!?

We made it back to our seats just in time for halftime and the UW-Madison marching band. They are a talented bunch! They spent the rest of the game wandering around the stands and playing short little musical bursts in between plays. It was hilarious. Here’s a snap of them wandering right past our seats.

111I just love Packer games! There’s such wonderful excitement in the air and if the Pack wins, then it carries out afterwards and you have 70,000 people with huge smiles plastered on their faces.

And they are less grumpy about being squashed into the Metro bus!! Ha ha

113

So there you have it – my Cardinals may be out of baseball for another year but the Pack are going strong. It’s amazing timing that we have the bye week coming up because we won’t be around that day to watch (but that’s a story for another day) 🙂

Wishing you all a great start to the week!

4 Responses

  1. That’s great you won the Packer turf! I bet it is a lot of fun at the games, especially when your team wins. Hope you continue to feel and get better.

  2. You don’t have to always be perky and happy to post. Blogs can be for bitching, too! 😀

    I fear the Broncos undefeated streak will be undone at the hands of the Packers unless Peyton figures out the new offense.

Leave a Reply

