• Shop Amazon

Stuffed Bell Peppers

Good morning!

I’ve been walking around in a bit of a daze this week – a severe lack of sleep combined with meds and overall feelings of ugh make Ali just a little bit unhappy. I’ve been bouncing around trying to determine the cause of my leg pain and now am working with my insurance on trying to get an MRI scheduled. What’s with Ben and me both needing MRIs within a month of each other?

I mentioned how my garden is bursting with massive peppers and despite their shape and size, I decided to go ahead with my original plan to make stuffed peppers. I put together a huge batch of pepper filling and then got to work stuffing away. Costco offers packages of rotisserie chicken off the bone so in a time crunch, that is a great option. For me, I just purchased two chickens and did a crude boning myself knowing even if I didn’t get the carcass totally clean, I was still saving a lot of $$ for a minimal amount of time.

064

I made a batch of brown rice, cubed the chicken, added a small container of salsa, a can of black beans, and a few handfuls of Mexican cheese. Viola!

As I was cutting my peppers I figured out a handy trick. If you only cut the skin of the pepper instead of all the way through, you can twist the pepper and all of the inside pith and seeds come neatly out. Let me show you:

Slice an inch down from the top of the pepper (my peppers were BIG you may not need to go this far down). Slice all the way around the pepper careful not to slice the seeds in the center.

065

Give a gentle twist and tug and you’ve got a neatly cored pepper with most of the seeds easily removed:

066

Then a quick rinse under the sink and you’re done! Since my peppers were so big I covered them in foil and cooked them at 375 for 45 minutes. That seemed to work just fine and we had a good texture with the peppers not being overly soggy or too crunchy. It’s a balance!

One thing I’ll say is that if I made these again, I would add more heat. Normally I’m a mild/medium kind of gal but I thought these could have used something more – like a small can of green chilies or a few shakes of hot sauce. Just something to think about. If you are vegetarian, these could easily be made without the chicken and I think they’d still be really tasty.

I served mine with a kale salad and it was wonderful and very filling! 🙂

068

Mmmmm

069

We froze a bunch of the stuffed peppers for easy winter meals and still had leftover filling which Ben used as an impromptu lunch.

077

I’m actually thinking of taking my next crop of peppers and trying out some peppers stuffed with ground beef too. Its easier to cook beef then bone and shred chicken so I’m guessing that meal will come together really quickly.

Bon appetit!

One Response

  1. The pepper meals looked great. My mom used to make stuffed green peppers with hamburger and rice, cooked in a tomato sauce or soup. Very good, too.

Leave a Reply

