• Shop Amazon

Toasty and Full of Sunshine

What a weekend!

What a weekend!

WHAT A WEEKEND

I can’t get over how fabulous it was. Saturday saw a high in the mid 60s and yesterday hit 70! It was pretty breezy but who can complain? All the dormant WI inhabitants leapt from their houses and paraded in the yards and in the streets. The amount of walkers, runners, and bikers was almost startling (but after a long Winter, why would anyone have been inside??).

But before I get to all the fun and games, you can probably guess by this email that I didn’t lose any of my fingers waiting for the furnace to be repaired. Sun-Thurs was pretty awful and there was a whole lot of this going on:

028 030

Each time I cooked anything in the oven I would leave the door open afterwards to help warm the kitchen. The parts arrived on Thursday and we were greeted with warmth – and the lovely smell of hot oil. We learned they oil a lot of the parts and when it gets warm… the smells wafts through the air ducts. While this was especially unpleasant, apparently most of the time people get smoke from the oil which sets up the smoke alarms in the house. Luckily, that didn’t happen. However, it felt weird running the furnace (finally) with both of the patio doors wide open!!

034

Crank her up and let her go!! Woooo heat. πŸ™‚ Is it ironic that our furnace died the LAST cold week of the season? Had it been this week – not a problem!

Friday night felt like a Mexican night, so we went back to the new Mexican place and I browsed their menu for something that would keep me on diet. After nixing the tortillas, black beans, rice, guacamole, and cheeseΒ – my delicious dinner was born:

041It was two chicken breasts piled with a variety of veggies. Ben got a jumbo margarita (boo!) and I sipped on my diet-friendly water. The things a chubby chick has to do, right? πŸ˜‰

040 039This is an awesome place though. Not a lot of business (hope they don’t go OUT of business!) but a huge menu, great atmosphere, and really cool decor. I enjoy it every time we go.

020

It just feels like Mexico πŸ™‚

We spent the weekend almost entirely outside. We surveyed some potential projects and cleaned up remaining Fall branches/leaves/sticks.

One of our projects is to replace the faded shutters on the front of the house. Ben got started on the lower ones.

055

And we were not surprised by what was behind the old ones:

056

There seem to be wasps everywhere we go! lol

I cleaned out the front flower patch. I really want to give it a facelift and some mulch, but I’m still trying to figure out if I’m going to remove some shrubs and make the area bigger or not.

053

My bleeding hearts are getting too big and too close together and I have such tough ground that some things are stunted and don’t grow very well. Maybe some new soil gently mixed in might help. Meanwhile, tulips are looking perfect!

Ben put an emergent on the lawn that is supposed to help prevent weeds and all the pricker plants that ate at my bare feet last year. Fingers crossed!

001 002

Saturday night we were invited over to visit our friends. I have zero pictures (fail) but they made bratwurst and had an assortment of chips, popcorn, pickles, pound cake. We diced up a huge bag of zucchini, yellow squash, and a variety of bell peppers – tossed them in olive oil with some spices – and brought that for a grilled veggie that would keep me on my diet and allow me to bypass all the bad food (minus the pickles, they are ok!!). The veggies were a huge hit! Yay!!

We were more tired yesterday after all the fresh air and outdoor work but we still managed to get a bunch done. I hung 4 loads of laundry on the line, trimmed back 3 really overgrown bushes, and cleaned two bathrooms. Ben also cleaned out part of the garage, started getting a list of seasonal parts we’ll need for the lawn mower, and put together a new shelf for me in the basement:

057I am HORRIBLE at throwing things away and worse at organization so every little bit that starts to get put together makes me feel proud. πŸ™‚

We stopped for lunch and decided to clean out veggies from the prior week. We both had salads but Ben put turkey on his. Mine was paired with a protein bar:

049 050 051All in all, you can’t get much better than a weekend like this. It’s raining this morning which should make the grass really green up and the extended forecast looks pretty good too. I’m excited for the week!

Did anyone else make good use out of the beautiful weather? What are you looking forward to this Spring?

2 Responses

  1. That dinner looks delicious! We have a new Mexican place near us that I want to give a try, but I always eat way too much at those places πŸ˜€

    Isn’t this warmer weather amazing?

  2. Your eats over the weekend looked very good and you guys got a lot done in one weekend. I have a hard time picking out something good and healthy at the Mexican restaurant I like to go to. I wish they had chicken breasts on the menu. Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

