• Shop Amazon

Freezing in April

Howdy folks,

I am blogging to you this morning and putting my fingers in peril by doing so. The furnace stopped working in our house on Sunday and we’ve been battling increasingly cold conditions ever since. Our repair guy ordered the replacement parts and they arrive tomorrow… but in the meantime Brrrrrrr!!

Last night we turned on the gas fireplace in our family room and huddled together under electric blankets with mugs of steaming coffee/tea in our hands. Ben set up a space heater in the bedroom so we could take the chill out of that room but showering and moseying around the house has been frigid. How come we can’t get some weather in the 60’s to help out??

I was trying to think of something to make that would use the oven and decided to mess around with some of the ideal protein foods. I got a box of pancake mix and a box of oatmeal and thought maybe I could re-purpose them into muffins that would be portable and easy for lunchtime snacking at work.

I whisked up a little egg white, water, vanilla, and baking powder with the mixes and then spooned them into mini muffin pans. I can get 6 minis for each packet of food.

Don’t the oatmeal muffins look pretty good?

041

I put too much water in the pancakes though and they turned out really flat…

042

They also stuck to the muffin tins – so I had to scrape them out with a spoon and use them as my late-night protein rather than a bake-ahead lunch.

040

The muffins were… just okay. They looked better than they tasted. It may be the egg whites in them but they were on the spongy/rubbery size. Not the greatest but still perfectly edible. Bonus for anything that can be taken to work!

043

Dinner really is a piece of cake on this diet. Breakfast is too because I can eat one of the once-a-day “restricted” items which are the foods that can be unwrapped and eaten without any prep. Lunch is always challenging because I need 2 cups of veggies as well as a non-restricted item, which tends to require prep that’s hard to do at work.

But I’m hanging in here overall. The diet is slowly moving and I’m keeping my eyes glued to the 10-day forecast in search of 50s and sunshine. Soon!! I’m also trying to make an effort to get up at work every hour or two and stretch my legs. It’s all good.

Hope you are all staying warm!!! Come on Spring!

3 Responses

  1. It really is the pits when the furnace isn’t working when temperatures are in the 40’s. Hopefully things will get better tomorrow. It sounds like you are doing well with the diet. I wish I could say the same. I hope the temps warm up soon.

  2. That sucks, but at least the furnace didn’t go out in January!

  3. Hope you get your furnace working today. Hopefully the weather will get sunnier and warmer for all of us. Keep up the good work on your weight loss.

Leave a Reply

