• Shop Amazon

March Madness

Enough already!!!

I woke up yesterday morning and found a crazy bunch of snow on the ground and it was STILL snowing. Usually I blog before getting to work but the radio was reporting all the slippery roads and traffic accidents, so I decided to forgo the post and leave a bit early. I’m a nervous snow-storm driver (to put it in a word: terrified) but luckily the entire drive into the office had no SUVs hanging off my bumper. I chugged along at 20mph and got to work with very little mental wear.

How does this happen? I thought we were past the big storms. Here’s a few shots I look looking out over the parking lot at work:

097 098

This is the real March madness! What’s ironic is that I had a dentist appointment last month and cancelled because it landed on the only major snowstorm for the month of February and I didn’t want to drive through town. I rescheduled for? Yesterday. Ha! Figures right? Luckily despite getting several inches of snow, most of it has already melted away… and maybe the extra water will be good for the grass.

No shoveling needed!

101

Last night I made a pork tenderloin roast for dinner. Super easy meal and super delicious. I rubbed the roast with coconut oil and then patted on a rubbing of thyme, sage, salt, and minced garlic. Popped it into the oven at 350 and 90 minutes later I was at the perfect temp and ready for dinner!

095

The key to a juicy pork roast is to lightly cover in foil and let rest for 10 minutes before slicing. The result was tender, juicy, and flavorful meat. Best part? leftovers for tonight!

096

I’m back on the Ideal Protein diet – using up my remaining packets of food and getting a bit of a start on the springtime diet – and already I am sick of vegetables. lol This diet makes you eat a large salad every day (greens) and 4 cups of certain vegetables. I remember from last time that broccoli got old fast. We will need to be creative in how we prepare them so we don’t get bored.

We have a going-away happy hour for some co-workers tonight. Just say NO to the alcohol and snacky bar foods! I guess WI is playing in the NCAA tourney tonight so I’m guessing the bar will be packed and we won’t be there long.

Now we wait until Sunday when the temps are back in the 50’s – and hope this little blip is the end until December! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. At least this time of year the snow we get melts faster. Just an inconvienence. Your pork roast looks delicious. I’ll have to try the rub sometime & I didn’t know about covering in tin foil for 10 minutes. What veggies can you eat on the Ideal Protein diet?

    • There’s a large list of allowed veggies: cucumbers, spinach, celery, broccoli, chard, rhubarb, green onions, alfalfa, sprouts, kohlrabi, zucchini, yellow squash, cauliflower… and then they have a list of veggies that are allowed only twice a week (total) and those include things like turnips, parsnips, tomatoes and green beans.

      • Do you like most of the veggies you mentioned above? I like vegetables, but not all of the ones you listed. I would probably have to eat the same ones every week, a couple times. How has your week been with Ideal Protein? Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

