• Shop Amazon

Wildtree Freezer Party

HAPPY SPRING!!

We’re ringing in the new season with more overcast skies and mid 50 temps – the best day of the week. After today we’re back into settling once more for the gloomy 40s. Still, it’s hard not to feel like the warmth and sunshine is right around the corner now.

A few weeks ago one of my friends invited me to a Wildtree freezer meal workshop at her house. At first I declined, thinking Wildtree was Tastefully Simple. I bought a few TS products when a co-worker was hosting a catalog party and I think that’s the worst way to buy something when you have never used the products before. I didn’t know what was good, what was bad, and ended up buying pricey things that were inedible and thrown into the trash.

Wildtree is similar to Tastefully Simple. Both are “party” products where you get a group of friends, sample products, and place orders. Wildtree differs from Tastefully because most of their products are organic. Another difference with this party structure was that you bring all your meat to make 10 meals. Then, at the party, you add the spices that transform the proteins into delicious entrees.

My friend was raving about having all these meals prepped and how it made dinners so much easier… so I signed up. I got a list of the menu and 10 recipes we’d be making along with the list of everything I needed to buy. Most recipes just needed beef, chicken, or pork but a few needed some additional items (can of Rotel, 1/2 cup of diced peppers, finely chopped onion, etc…). I got all my meats pre-measured at the grocery store so then all I needed to do was number my bags and add the necessary meats and additional ingredients.

024

We packed up the rolling cooler with ice and I was off to the party. It was a nice, small group of women and the wine flowed freely as we laughed, measured, and chatted.

025

Everyone came in varying stages of preparedness. I had all my meat removed from the grocery store wrappings and in my freezer bags, one lady didn’t and had to take time to do that, and another didn’t bring anything with her – opting to add her stuff once she got home. It all worked!

One requirement was that everyone “cook” with an apron on. So much fun 🙂

027We got a master document with all the recipes and ingredients as well as a small label with cooking instructions. Do you know what that means? It means Ben can hunt through the freezer, find something that looks good, and then has simple instructions to get started on dinner. What’s not to love about that!??

026Aside from the regular meal assembly, we got to sample all the oils and dressings.

028

We also got to look at all the products that were going into our recipes:

029Some of the recipes we prepped were:

– best ever burgers

– sloppy joes

– herb and cheese skillet meal

– ranch chicken strips

– ranch pork chops

– parmesan crusted pork chops

– tacos

– hearty spaghetti

– cheezy chicken sliders

I had a lot of fun putting the meals together and really, really like having a bunch of ready-to-cook meals in the freezer. This will come in handy when we have no idea what to make some night. I will let you know how these meals taste. If they are good, heck, maybe I’ll do a freezer party too.

Speaking of meal prep, I’ve been thinking about going back on the Ideal Protein diet. I lost 40 pounds on the diet back in 2013 but had to stop because I was having such terrible hair loss. I was going through my cupboards and have about 4 weeks of product left. It was really $$$ so I don’t want it to go to waste, and I’m wondering if a few weeks might be a nice weight loss kick-start but not enough time to start losing clumps of my locks again. Last year was a really hard year on me. I gained a bunch of weight back and am feeling down on myself about it. It would be nice to crack a whip and get going on something. Will take some planning so I’ll discuss with Ben over the weekend and see if it’s something I want to start.

I have a pedicure date with my friend Mel on Saturday and am grocery shopping with my other friend Jess today. But the highlight of this weekend will be my chiro adjustment. I have a pain in my neck that I need some TLC on. 🙂 That’s what happens when you get old folks (tee hee).

Here’s to a FABULOUS and beautiful Spring. Bring it on. @}–,–,——-

One Response

  1. I have never heard of this kind of freezer meal party. It sounds interesting and would save you time at meal time preps. Let us know how the meals taste. I’ve had the same problem with the weight coming back on. For me, I think it is more the portion control that goes haywire! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

