• Shop Amazon

Mid-March Merriment

Hey there – I hope you had a relaxing and productive weekend. The forecast projected crazy/awesome temps and while Sat/Sun were pretty windy and overcast, Friday delivered the goods in a BIG way.

Almost all of the snow is gone now. The only visible stuff is way back in the corners surrounded by shade and large trees.

005

I spent Friday running errands and being productive. I got a short walk in and then sat around impatiently waiting for Ben to come home from work. He might have gotten a random photo message. Nothing like your wife whining for you to come home when you’re stuck at work, lol.

044

(come home so we can play outside…)

Too bad. When you get a sunny and warm day, you want to use it! I wanted Ben to take the bikes down from the rafters and pump the tires up and I was excited to grill out. It was the first official grilling meal of the new year!

002

004

Which, according to Ben, requires a grilling beverage…

003last vestiges of snow… as of yesterday all this snow was gone. Do you like the random spiky plant sprouting from the bush? I’m looking at getting a few estimates to rip shrubs out and put in some curbing around the trees and shrubs in the front of the house. I’m not sure what I want or how $$$ it will be, but I thought I could get a few different people to come over and give me some options.

Here’s a little back-in-time shot that I thought was appropriate. Here I am hanging my first load of laundry on the line. This picture was taken on March 31, 2014:

013

And this was the scene yesterday afternoon:

050Hard to complain about that!! We had fresh line-dried bed sheets and that is one of my top reasons for living. 🙂

We had a small mountain of delicious steak which ended up being leftovers all weekend long. Less cooking for us is always a bonus.

006Along with the meat, I cut up an assortment of veggies we had in the house, tossed them with some grapeseed oil, salt, pepper, and last year’s garden-grown parsley, and roasted away.

007This was a mix of sweet potatoes, butternut squash, parsnips, garlic, and red onion. Everything was delicious except the red onion. They didn’t get crispy the way I had hoped and were tough, leathery, chewy, and not appetizing. I ended up picking them out.

I really loved this way of preparing the veggies. Plus, I could have added much more and had leftovers for other meals as well.

Saturday was Pi day and we caravanned with friends to Costco for some lunchtime shopping and sample nibbling. Ben caught sight of the apple pies and decided we couldn’t possibly get through Pi day without a slice of pie. Costco pies are much larger than the average bakery pie (which is still a lot of pie for two people. Ok, I could eat a whole pie myself so let’s just say it was more pie than two people should eat). That meant we swung by to see my family after dinner and brought dessert for everyone to share. Alex was especially excited. 🙂

046My piece heated up with a generous dollop of frozen custard on top. Mmm Mmm good.

047A weekend involving pie just can’t be topped (bad pun?)

We don’t have too much planned for this week. There’s a big deployment at work planned and I’m hoping not to be called in to help but other than that, the temps are moving back down into the 40s. We’ll see how long it is before we get the sunshine and mid 60’s I had last Friday. Good thing I got my walk in while I could!!!

Off to work!

Leave a Reply

