• Shop Amazon

Downtown Dining

Oh heck yes! How many ways can you say amazing, wonderful, fabulous weather??!! It took until later afternoon but the temps just crept up all day and by the time I got home from work it was almost 60 degrees. I grabbed Ben and we went for our first neighborhood walk of the year. Spring couldn’t have come soon enough!

We met up with friends to try another restaurant we had never been to before. It was called White Dog Black Cat but we were confused when we walked in because all the outdoor signs just said “Black Cat Café”

Ironic how almost all the snow is gone now but the twinkle lights are still up in downtown Green Bay. I love the ambiance.

033This restaurant was pretty adorable and hard-to-miss from the outside. It was a fuchsia color with funky artwork lining the side of the building.

034

Half of the café is more of a bar area while the other smaller section is the dining room. We were seated right in the middle of the room (with people constantly walking all around us) so it wasn’t as quiet as we would have liked. But we were fairly close to the little stove which I thought was adorable.

035

I decided to branch out from my normal and ordered one of their black bean burgers substituting French fries for a cup of baked French onion soup. They only charged $1 for the upgrade – I love that!

036

Ben ordered a chicken sandwich with fries. His fries were amazingly tasty.

037

It was a cute little place but probably more of a lunch than a dinner restaurant. Ben said his sandwich was tasty but tiny. My soup was really good but I wasn’t a big fan of the bean burger. It was a bit mushy and rather bland. I think when you have a bean burger it needs to have some bolder flavors to make it sing.

All in all it was a great evening. We got to catch up with our friends about our recent vacations (they spent 2 weeks in Florida). Now I’m jealous and want a job where I can work remotely. 🙂

I’ve also started challenging Ben to daily 5,000 step challenges. I know for many people 5K seems like nothing but it’s the amount that requires effort on my part and forces me to get some kind of activity in. Yesterday with our walk I almost hit 7,000 steps. Great start!

Ok, time to scoot to work. Here’s hoping it’s a great day!

2 Responses

  1. Don’t you just love this near 60 weather we are experiencing this week and it still is March. Cute place to eat at. Saw many walkers out yesterday and will probably see more today. Enjoy this weather!

  2. That is one of the favorite places of my brother and his wife! In fact, as part of the wedding party, we had lunch there on the big day. (5 hours between the ceremony and reception.)

    The food is generally very good. (I’ve loved a few things and have been so-so on others.) But we’ve found the find the service to be fantastic.

    And, girl, a 5k is something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

