• Shop Amazon

Light and then Dark

Ok – am I the only one who woke up this morning and grimaced a bit at how dark it was outside? I was juuuust getting used to driving to work when it was light out, and it was glorious. I think we’ve moved into the “antsy Ali” stage of winter. It’s that time of year when it’s light enough out until 7pm and you could get an after-dinner walk in but it’s still way, too cold. I feel like precious sunlight is being wasted on the cold. However, the 10 day forecast is looking downright amazing

10 day march 9 15

59 tomorrow – is someone playing a joke on me?? I can’t believe it! Wooooo Hooooo Woooo!!!! Bring it. Definitely getting a walk in tomorrow. No doubt.

This weekend was spent hanging out with friends and taking it easy. We’re having Ben’s folks over for dinner again so the house is sparkling clean (which rarely happens). That meant we had more time to do whatever we wanted. I downloaded a couple new books on my tablet and enjoyed sitting in the sunshine by the window. I miss having a lengthy stretch of time to read.

We did taco salad for our weekend dinner – always a hit for both of us!

046

And I made raspberry yogurt smoothies. Really good but I actually think I liked the mixed berry blend better. However, the color was amazing – just look how bright and vivid:

022 020

I’m sure smoothies will become a regular thing in the house this summer. They are cool, refreshing, and will be perfect when the fruit from our garden is ripe once more.

Ben brought me breakfast in bed Sunday morning but because he literally woke me up and deposited a tray with steaming coffee and a homemade waffle on my lap, I didn’t exactly race downstairs to grab the camera. I’ve been sleeping in a bit too long over the weekend (I’m just so tired) so I made Ben wake me up so I don’t sleep too long. He had better me careful not to spoil me too much because having even just the hot coffee ready and waiting for me is pretty amazing. Plus, you have incentive to get going so you don’t roll over and doze off while your coffee gets cold. 🙂

One of our friends had his b-day party Saturday night and it was a “hat party” meaning everyone who arrived had to wear a hat. I’m waiting to get some of the pictures from our other friends who were there and then will post about it. I really enjoyed the idea of a themed party. Even though no one made a crazy hat, we definitely talked about everything from the crazy hats they wore in My Fair Lady to the party hats in Go Dog Go. I have to ask, am I the only one who has read that book? It’s a classic!!

go-dog-go-hat

(Go Dog Go, P.D. Eastman – Random House)

Is anyone else looking forward to warmer weather this week? Ever been to a themed party?? Have a great Monday everyone!!

6 Responses

  1. Your trip looks wonderful with a lot of fun times!

  2. That sounds like an awesome trip. So jealous!

  3. Smoothies look great! How about a blueberry & raspberry smoothie?

  4. I am NOT a fan of the darkness in the morning again! I was just getting used to it being nice and bright out…

  5. Sounds like a fabulous trip!!!

Leave a Reply

