• Shop Amazon

The Long Wait Till August

Phew – the Super Bowl is over which means I don’t have to relive the disappointment over the Packers’ loss any longer. I can’t think of any team I like less than the Seahawks and Patriots so whatever the outcome, we knew it would be lackluster. We decided to root for the Patriots just because, as a whole, they seem less cocky and arrogant.

I remember this picture Alex shared with me during the divisional week – it shows which team had the most supporters by state. How interesting:

divisional game

Ben wanted to watch the game so I grabbed my tablet, turned on Candy Crush, and tried to pass a few levels while keeping an eye out for any fun commercials. Was it me or did the overall commercial tone feel kind of dark and depressing? I didn’t laugh out loud at any commercial. I loved the Budweiser ad with the guy and his horse last year (it was my favorite) so this year’s rendition made me smile but didn’t have the same impact. The Fiat commercial was kinda funny. I giggled. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Always ad is old – I’ve seen it for months – so it wasn’t great either. The Chevy commercial at the beginning (where they cut the screen out) I was just getting settled in so really didn’t understand what was happening. I think the Weight Watchers commercial might have been my favorite. I wasn’t sure where it was going until the end. Now I’ll head into the office and hear the water cooler chit-chat about the game and the commercials for a solid day. And then no one will care about football anymore.

So there you have it – ย the long wait until pre-season begins in August…

Here in WI we’ve been in the midst of Winter but luckily avoiding all the snow storms and chaos that’s been hitting the East Coast. Yesterday was insanely windy and we ventured out to get some grocery shopping done and ended up with frozen cheeks and chattering teeth. Yikes! Luckily the wind has died down a bit today!! BUT – you can see grass on the ground. In February. Craziest thing ever.

We haven’t been doing anything exciting or worth blogging about, so I haven’t been on here as much lately. We need to get more interesting Winter lives!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I mentioned we bought a new car for Ben and listed his old one on Craigslist. It sold in less than a day and we were waiting for the title to arrive so we could finalize the sale. We received the title, made the hand-off, and Ben said a few tearful goodbyes to his old baby. And then I took him out for steak to get his mind off his old car. Food is a wonderful bribe, I’m just saying.

We arrived just as the dining room was beginning dinner service, so everything was open and wonderfully quiet for about 10 minutes. I love that. ๐Ÿ™‚

026 027

The nightly special was steak – which made the guy pretty darn happy:

028

First stop was the salad bar:

029

Followed by chicken and rice soup and a loaf of buttery baked bread:

030

Bread is my downfall. I could eat an entire loaf myself. I should just ask that it not even be brought to the table. It’s hard to resist when you’re smelling it! ๐Ÿ™‚

I ordered a tenderloin with green beans and French fries:

031 032

The French fries were horrible – and maybe that was good because I barely ate any. They were frozen and had no salt or seasoning on them. Very bland. You get a lot of food and it’s a decent price but I wouldn’t say it is the tastiest place in the Green Bay area. Time to try some new spots I think!

We’ve been watching The Office with our good friends and are already on Season 3. I had a hard time getting into the first few episodes but it’s mellowed a bit and now I find myself laughing at each episode. Even more amusing? Their cat, Onion, hides on top of the car and then pops out and “meows” to us as we get ready to leave each night.

035 034

That means he wants to be let out of the garage. No can-do buddy!! Black cats roaming about the yard at night are asking for trouble!!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. It’s FEBRUARY already! Spring will be here before we know it and if that isn’t reason to smile, I don’t know what is. ๐Ÿ™‚ !!

One Response

  1. I didn’t care about the superbowl. Can’t stand the Patriots. I don’t like the Seahawks because it seems the only decent person on that team is Russell Wilson. It was a good game, though.

Leave a Reply

