• Shop Amazon

Five Short Years

In the past couple of months since Ben and I were married, I’ve spent more time than usual thinking about how we met, our first dates, and the early parts of our relationship. We met in December of 2009 and right from the start I wanted things to be casual so neither of us had to worry about unnecessary dates and drama. For example, we skipped giving each other anything for Christmas that year (not even a card) and on Christmas Eve we just went out for breakfast before parting ways for the rest of the holiday.

We never did one month, 3 month, or any of those silly anniversaries… but for some reason when one year of dating came by, I thought it would be fun to do something. Not surprisingly, Ben had no clue it was Anniversary #1. Red-faced and apologetic, he opened his card and said he’d never forget it again. I got flowers the next day. πŸ™‚

Now here we are, December of 2014, celebrating anniversary #5. I’d always thought once we got married the whole “anniversary of the first date” thing would probably go away. My parents still celebrate it (Ok, my Dad always seems to remember the day, my mother never does) so maybe more people do than I think. Or perhaps it’s just fun to have more things to celebrate and look forward to, especially things that aren’t Hallmark-driven.

I get home after another long day of work and find a little pink card propped up on the kitchen table. You can tell my brain hasn’t been all there lately because my immediate thought was “oh, how nice. Ben knows I’ve been working ’round the clock lately and he’s getting me a card”. Even though that makes no sense; Ben hates cards.

Anyway, I open it up and started to cry. It was an anniversary card and this time I had forgotten.

Ben says that makes us even for Anniversary #1. I think it makes me overworked and stressed. lol

We had time to finally celebrate this weekend. We drove to Appleton and had a leisurely dinner. The restaurant was all Christmas lights and holiday cheer. I loved it.

003

For whatever reason, we were both STARVED when we got there and each ordered a cup of soup. It’s good we did because it took a long time to get our food and I think Ben may have gnawed on the table leg if he didn’t have soup to tide him over.

Ben digging with gusto into his baked potato soup:

002

I love baked potato soup too but they had beef barley also on the menu that night. Do you know how hard it is to get good beef barley soup that isn’t swimming with mushrooms?? I almost fell over in good luck! It was just as delicious as I thought. Mental note: make beef barley soup at home some time.

001

Our entrees were a beef brisket sandwich for me and country fried chicken for Ben:

005 004

I ended up not eating the bun because I preferred picking out the meat from my sandwich instead. πŸ™‚ After a delicious dinner, we drove over to the mall and walked around looking for any interesting gift ideas. Oddly enough, we left empty handed but relaxed and very happy.

In honor of our 5 year anniversary, I thought I’d post the first picture of Ben that made the blog:

DSC00703

It was just a few years ago but I think he looks like a baby. πŸ™‚ ha ha

DSC01038

Happy Anniversary ❀

One Response

  1. Happy anniversary! We still celebrate our first date anniversary – 20 years later LOL! It’s fun.

Leave a Reply

