• Shop Amazon

Monday Mornings

Why does it feel that Mondays always creep up way too fast? I plopped down in front of the computer to get a few things sorted out before heading to work and my inner grumblings were temporarily piqued by the article Yahoo posted about people working on Mondays. Apparently I’m not the only one who prefers Thursday or Fridays. 🙂 The article basically said you should ask yourself 5 questions each day and if you consistently answer “No” to 3 or more of them, then you should consider looking for a new job. The questions were:

1. Am I excited to dive into the challenges that I have lined up for the week?

2. Am I looking forward to engaging with the people I am meeting or working with?

3. Am I going to my dream job?

4. Am I being compensated fairly for the value I bring to my job?

5. Do I feel energized, rested, and confident?

Despite the fact that most people work because they have to and not because they want to, I think what’s challenging is going from having a couple days over the weekend to do things for yourself. Granted, it’s not always fun stuff (cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, etc…) but at least it’s stuff for YOU and not for a business. Plus, there are so many more factors to consider which make the articles 5 questions a little silly. Maybe your dream job doesn’t pay enough for it to be a viable option. Maybe there’s external factors leading to you not feeling energized, rested, and confident. Maybe you don’t really know what you want to do and figure a job is better than no job.

Personally, I don’t like Mondays because they are the furthest day from Friday. It’s hard to look down the week ahead and feel like you aren’t just counting down the days. Perhaps I just need some early-in-the-week activity to look forward to?

I also don’t like Mondays when I’ve had a fun-filled or relaxing weekend and want more time for it to continue. We had several days of wind and rain which means the trees are losing their leaves quickly. So many of the trees are bare already and I wanted to get a walk in before they were all over. Ben and I found a little preserve near our house and took a leisurely walk yesterday. It was great and there were still some pretty colors left.

040 043 039

It was a bit colder than we would have wanted due to the blowing wind, but we were sandwiching the 2 mile walk in between grocery shopping and the Packer game. I actually was pretty impressed with the trail. The steep sections were paved and they had mile markers every 1/10th – perfect if you were trying to run a mile and wanted visual markers to help increase your distance.

044

The last remains of a wasp nest…

045

And silly walkers who had the whole trail all to themselves

047 046

042 036 038 037

The geese are collecting in huge groups getting ready to head south. I know what’s coming and I don’t blame them!

048It was such a pretty walk and we hopped back in the car with runny noses and smiles on our faces. The Packers won and it wasn’t a nail-biter, and Peyton Manning broke Favre’s record for most TDs. We cheered!

These next few weekends are going to be packed with activities. We have two Halloween parties, a lunch/movie date with my bridesmaid, my last trip of the year to Wausau, and a weekend cabin adventure with some good friends. Should be a lot of laughter and good memories!

Let’s get interactive this morning. So tell me, how do you feel about Mondays? Do you agree with Yahoo’s 5 questions or do you think there’s more to it?

3 Responses

  1. Those questions are irritating. I think everyone knows whether or not they are in their dream job LOL! It’s like that question “what would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail?”. Well, failure is a possibility you cannot leave out when making plans. It’s just reality.

    Love the Peyton got the record. It’s so refreshing to see a hardworking nice person actually finish first.

    • Agreed – there are so many other factors to consider!

      We were really happy for Peyton. We’ve liked him all through his career and Alex’s favorite team is always dependent on whatever team Peyton is on. 🙂

  2. The better a weekend is, the harder a Monday morning is. Most of the time my job is a dream job but then there are those “other” days.

Leave a Reply

