• Shop Amazon

The Countdown has begun

22

For the longest time people have been stopping me in the hallways at work and asking what the countdown was before the wedding. To be honest, I have known it’s been getting closer but I wasn’t really watching the exact days. Well, that’s changed now. I’m starting to think I need a day-by-day planner so I am sure I’ll have time to get all the remaining things done. After feeling like I had scads of time, tomorrow will be the 3-week mark. Holy, holy macaroni.

After the past couple of rain storms, the weeds are now flourishing in the yard. The grass isn’t 100% but Ben went out last night and gave everything a quick cut. After that, we got called over to my family’s house for an impromptu birthday meal!

What a feast! My mom made several of my favorite dishes and we loaded up on awesome goodness.

I grabbed some caprese salad – with fresh mozzarella and garden tomatoes.

024

My grandma used to make calico beans with brown sugar and bacon. My brother Matt adores this recipe and it was delicious!

027

Ironically, we haven’t had melon much this year – so Ben was excited to load up on fruit. 🙂

025

Mom also made her sweet and sour cucumbers. They have a bit of sugar and vinegar in them.

028

But the star of the show were one of my favorite summer dishes: homemade BBQ spare ribs. These are absolutely to die for. You boil them the night before and make a homemade sauce that they marinade in overnight. The result are these tender, juicy, and flavorful chunks of deliciousness.

026

My plate (she also made homemade potato wedge fries. they were sooooo good!):

029

My birthday cake was an orange gelatin cake:

030

It looked and smelled beautiful but we all agreed that probably wasn’t one we’d make again. (I know, right, how can I say that about CAKE??!!) But the spongy bits of cake had a weird texture alongside the more gelatin pieces. It was just a weird and not appetizing mouth feel.

031

But who cares after a meal like that?

Somehow, I didn’t manage to get a picture of ME in front of my cake! That might be the first time that’s ever happened. I’ll have to hope the folks snagged a picture. 🙂 What can I say, I’m a sucker for tradition.

So a possible dinner date with a girlfriend tonight, dress fitting #3 tomorrow, and then over the weekend we have a few things we need to get done and crossed off the wedding list. Slowly but surely folks!

2 Responses

  1. Hmmm… gelatin in cake? That sounds interesting.

  2. It was interesting… kinda like those jello “poke” cakes but because it had larger pieces of gelatin, it was a weird consistency.

Leave a Reply

