• Shop Amazon

Rain and Rain

It’s been two weeks since our last much-needed bit of rain and hurray! All summer every storm front has pushed just north of us, leaving everything dry, cracked, and crusty. Last night was an 80% prediction for rain despite the huge front that was showing on the radar, but we lucked out. It started raining around 8:15pm and was still raining when I got up a little while ago at 5:30am. That nice, long soaking is going to do wonders for the grass and trees. Heck, Ben might actually have to mow the lawn this month!

Ben knows that I’m trying to curb my wayward eating habits this next month and he’s been wowing me with all kinds of interesting low-carb dinners. Tonight he did his own take on Chinese food by making chicken meatballs and broccoli that’s supposed to resemble Chinese chicken and broccoli.

017

This was so cool! There was a little heat from some red pepper flakes and the meatballs had some almond meal in them. There’s something pretty awesome when a person makes you dinner, don’t you think? I used to tell Mom I was going to move back home because I missed having dinner made for me every night. You don’t appreciate those things until they are gone! πŸ™‚

I have a secret… when I was over at my friend’s house on Saturday night eating dinner and downing ice cream sundaes, we watched the first episode of Bachelor in Paradise that she had recorded. I hate these shows, I really do. But, like most people, when you see a drama-filled train wreck, you have to watch. So last night I was sitting on the couch for 2 hours shaking my head at the stupid people on this show. Of course, the hook is that once you start watching, you have to see who ends up going home. I spent commercials doing sit-ups, taking a quick walking loop in the backyard (before the rain), and alternating pushups and squats. Better than nothing, right?

I was doubly lucky last night. Dad stopped by with two dishes of warm peach/blueberry crisp. Oh man, this was to die for! Ben took one bite, said it was “OK” (huh???) and I snatched his away from him so I could eat it later. The, um, diet thing can wait another day, right? Famous last words, I know… πŸ™‚

015

Anything involving peaches is already at the top of my list. If you add in that Mom made it, then that brings it over the top in excellence. I’m sure it will take willpower not to take the other piece out of the fridge and eat it for breakfast this morning.

It’s August 12th today – which means we’re exactly ONE month away from the wedding. Oh my gosh. I get a little nervous whenever I think about that. I still can’t believe I’m basically going to blink and the day will be here… and then Summer will be long over too. How about we just delay this month another 2-3 months? Everyone OK with that??

πŸ™‚ Ok, time to hunt down the umbrella and make my way to work. Stay dry and bring on the rain!

3 Responses

  1. Ahhh one month!! So exciting!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. One month will go by really fast! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

