• Shop Amazon

Checking it Off the List

Now that I have the bachelorette party and shower behind me (which I still need to recap), it’s time to buckle down and get working on knocking more things off the wedding to-do list. I have resorted to using theknot’s checklist because I have no idea what I’m supposed to do. Ok, I know a lot of what I’m supposed to do, but it’s nice to have a double-check.

Ben has had the task of researching possible honeymoon locations. We discussed budget and then I let him take care of it all… so I was amused when the travel agent proposed all these super-pricey locations. I guess Ben doubled our budget just to “see what was out there”. He got back down to realistic business and we’re officially booked for a lovely week in Punta Cana. I’d always assumed we’d be in Jamaica or Mexico but a resort popped up that was even a bit below budget (when does that happen?) so we went for it. I don’t usually like to leave in the early Fall because it’s my favorite time of year, but we also didn’t want to wait until Jan/Feb to take our honeymoon.

I have a good chunk of my shower thank-yous done and sitting in a pile on the kitchen table. Last night I found out that the place I wanted to order my wedding programs from is having a 50% off sale that ends TODAY – so I’ll be switching gears tonight to see if I can get the programs finished and ordered. Back to thank-yous tomorrow!

We’re on the 2nd day of a 2-day heat wave. It’s been in the high 80s with plenty of humidity. I think the plants are enjoying the sunshine (but maybe not the lack of overall water – there’s only so much water lugging a girl can do).

Goliath is still looking big and beautiful. I’m hoping he’ll turn yellow and then I’ll pick him.

010

My cilantro has gotten so high it’s now flowering…

012

I also learned my lesson about planting lots of spinach and butter lettuce. We just don’t eat it quickly enough. Now I have ridiculously far-gone plants that need to be ripped out. Maybe I’ll re-plant 1/4 of the area with new stuff. Maybe.

011

(My toes are in there for perspective)

The whole garden is looking jam-packed with greenery but not a lot of food production. I’m really hoping for a lot of pepper growth – I planted a lot more this year in the hopes of getting enough for a good freezer bag full.

009

Back in the world of wedding prep, my RSVP count is up to 70 people. There’s a little over a month before they are due back and I have a feeling we’ll be getting a bunch more in a few weeks. Still budgeting for around 150 people. Now I’m left pondering odd questions: do I go for a round of teeth whitening? do I fake-bake for a bit of a tan or just try and get outside a little more? Do I buy all the wedding favors at once or just little packs as people RSVP?

So still plenty to do but things are getting done too, which is awesome. I think the next couple of weeks will feel a bit like a transition as Ben and I work out a new exercise schedule too. Tonight we’re heading back to Body Pump. I already miss boot camp, but we knew it was too pricey for something we’d consider long-term. Plus now we have lots of workout ideas to do at home.

Well, time to head out into the heat. Hopefully that colder front pushes through tonight and cools things down!

4 Responses

  1. Time is going by fast for your wedding. How many attendants are you & Ben having? Good luck getting the wedding programs done & ordered. Less humid today – yeah!

  2. Punta Cana sounds great!!!! You’re moving right along!

Leave a Reply

