• Shop Amazon

Bachelorette Partying

shower 7

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? Was it total craziness like mine??

I spent ALL day Friday hunting through stores looking for something suitable to wear to my bridal shower. I temporarily gave up, went to get a pedicure so I’d at least have cute toes, and went home to wait for Ben. Sensing I could use a little support, Ben volunteered to come along with me so we could find something together. It was a lot more fun having him along but in the end I went home completely empty-handed. How does that happen!

Feeling a little defeated, I went to show Ben my cute new nails only to find out that the polish had smudged when it was still a little wet – so then I had a crazy looking toe too. Oh well! Sometimes, that’s how it goes. πŸ™‚

Boot camp

We got up early on Saturday for our FINAL boot camp class. I think I miss it already just typing that. There wereΒ three stations with 3 exercises per station. You had 5 minutes at a station and then a minute of transition with two rounds. The tricky part was that at the top of each minute you had to stop wherever you were and start over from the top. So the incentive was to go quickly through your exercises so that you’d have a bit of a rest before starting it over again.

The stations:

  • 5 burpees, 10 skull crushers, 15 jumps (jumping as far across the room as you can)
  • 5 tuck jumps, 10 ring rows, 15 banded upright rows
  • 5 weighted sit-ups, 10 spiderman planks, 15 squat jumps

The skull crushers definitely get me. I’m still feeling those today! Now that we’re done with boot camp, the trick will be to find a schedule for our old gym and then get into a new pattern of exercise so we can keep up with the progress we’ve made.

We went home, watered the garden and took showers. Then it was time for my shower! I’m waiting to get some pictures back from friends/family so I’ll recap that later. After the shower I went home to unload the goods and change, and then we went over to my MoH’s house for the bachelorette party.

There was quite the array of party items – from the amusing to the NSFB (not safe for blog).

shower 2

Every person got a new name for the night!

shower 3

It’s such a weird dichotomy for all of this shower/party/wedding stuff. I’m not used to being the center of attention or for people really doing things like this for me – so it’s semi uncomfortable but at the same time so wonderfully sweet to have people who are excited for me and want to celebrate. πŸ™‚

So, you go with it and just have a good time, right?

shower 6

That is me, so stylish!!

We invited the men-folk so it would be more casual and laid-back. We all mingled and got our first round of drinks and then the boys headed downstairs for Rock Band while the girls hung out upstairs chatting and listening to music.

shower 1

Even the downstairs was decorated!

shower 5

Of course – everyone loves Ben, especially animals. Our friends’ dog absolutely adores Ben and loves to get attention whenever Ben comes over. I thought this was the sweetest picture…

shower 4

We did a LOT of karaoke and there were some pretty drunk people by the end of the night. I’ve never been big into excessive drinking and from the time we arrived (4pm) to the time we left (1:30am), I had just 3 drinks. I was surprised I managed to stay awake that long too – it was a very long day with the emotional build-up before the shower. I don’t know how people are not somewhat nervous for stuff like that, but in the end it all turned out just fine. πŸ™‚

And now there’s just about 8 weeks left to go before the big day! I’m starting to wonder what I’ll do with myself once it’s all over with. lol

shower 9

53 days to go!!

 

6 Responses

  1. You had a very busy Saturday! It was fun, right? You must have found something nice to wear to the shower. Do you have any more showers coming up? It’s all part of the festivities!

    • I ended up wearing clothes I already had but made the most of it. No more showers, I don’t know many people around here. Now it’s just getting the remaining things figured out and not worrying about anything!! πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhhh this is so exciting!!! Love that last picture of you!!! What a fun way to spend the night πŸ™‚ You’re getting closer!!!!

  3. Love that photo of you! The wedding will be a whirlwind and then life goes on and you get busy again πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

