• Shop Amazon

Boot Camp Kicking my Butt

It’s time for some boot camp updates! We’ve been going for a little over 2 months now. It’s pricey but we love going and decided to give it three solid months. The downside is that I’m not losing any weight or noticing any significant difference in the fit of my clothes. The upside is that I’m feeling stronger and have the tiniest hint of a bicep now (wooo muscles!!!!!!).

I have all of last week’s workouts written down but need to get them posted for you. Meanwhile, I’ll share Saturday’s killer circuit along with last night’s workouts.

Saturday – Cardio Killer

35min, As Many Rounds As Possible. No breaks (except for guzzling water)

•Down and Back (5)
•Medicine Ball Slams (10)
•Sit Ups (20)
•Burpees (5)

•Down and Back (5)
•Box Step-Ups (10)
•Ring Rows (10)
•Burpees (5)

•Down and Back (5)
•Bicycle Crunches (20)
•Push ups (10)
•Burpees (5)

A “down and back” refers to walking outside the building and running 5 laps “down and back” across the short end of the parking lot. Between the running and the burpees, I was a wreck afterwards.

how i run

(My run is more like a sad trot!)

Normally Ben and I get back in the car and assess the class. That morning we collapsed, rolled down all the windows, and sat in dead silence. 🙂 The nice thing about the AMRAP circuits is that you go at your own pace, which I love.

Yesterday was Day 1 of the 28 day 100 mile work challenge so I went for a walk over lunch with a co-worker. The temp was 72 and overcast so we figured that was as perfect as it could get. But the moment we stepped outside, the sun came out… and the humidity hit us. Oooofta! It was sticky-sticky. Still, we got a couples miles in and I got back to my desk sweating and way, way too warm. I won’t be able to do that before any meetings!

Last night was supposed to be a full boot camp class but I think a lot of people bailed because of the weather. Our classes are held in a warehouse / garage that only has a couple of fans and no A/C. I could definitely feel the humidity zapping my energy but I hung in there.

Five-station circuit: 2 minutes of work, 1 minute transition – repeat all stations 2x (30min)

Do as many rounds of each series as you can in the 2 minutes.

station 1: 10 Wall Balls, 10 Ball Slams

station 2: 10 sit ups with plate, 20 Russian twists

station 3: 20 mountain climbers, 20 bicycle crunches

station 4: 10 kettle bell squat & overhead press, 10 pushups

station 5: 10 jump squats, 10 medicine ball squats

 

With all this exercise, I am definitely needing to baby myself and be more aware of muscle soreness and pain. There’s a difference between soreness, tightness, and pain – which isn’t always easy to identify. I have been having some hip pain and went in to get a chiropractic adjustment. Usually I go in for my neck/shoulder and she said she’d adjust my neck even though it was doing OK.

CRAAAAAACK

I had such a startled look on my face that she laughed at me. I guess I needed that after all! It usually NEVER hurts to get my hips adjusted but this time was really painful, so I’m going back tomorrow for another adjustment.

sad back

In the meantime, I keep going at it. The lack of weight loss is unbearably frustrating and I started reading about food intolerances. I’m considering doing some testing to see if I have any. It’s uber-expensive but if that’s what would help… the problem is you don’t know until after you do the testing and put a plan into action. I just know I can eat perfect all week, have one cheat meal over the weekend and gain it all back – plus more. Let’s say I start the week at 100lbs. I can work hard and get down to 98.2 by the weekend, eat a dinner out and be 102. Then I’ll spend ALL week taking that off and will end up at 98.6 for the next week, etc… That just doesn’t seem right to me.

Anyways, it’s supposed to be 78 and humid again today. Our lawn is in dire need of mowing and since the rest of the week is packed, we may stay home tonight. I’ll likely go for a walk while Ben mows. Lots of fun and exciting stuff coming up – but I’m nervous too. I’m hoping for a few good engagement photos on Thursday.

Ok, time to get to work. Have a good day!

Yesterday’s Step Count: 8932

2 Responses

  1. I don’t usually comment, but I thought I’d give my 2 cents, in case you want them 🙂 A few years ago I was having a really hard time losing weight…I thought I was eating well and I was exercising regularly, but it just wasn’t coming off. I finally decided to track my calories on an app for a week or two, just to see if maybe I was just eating way more calories than I was burning. Can I just say, it was an eye opening experience! Once I figured out a good amount of calories to shoot for, I planned out what I’d eat each day on my app. It didn’t take long to start seeing the weight come off. I ended up dropping 55 lbs and have kept the weight off for a few years now. I check in with the app and log for a couple of days if I feel I’m starting to have too many treats on a regular basis, and I find that keeps me focused on eating healthy. Don’t get me wrong, I eat a bit of crap once and awhile, but I sort of budget for it during the day. If I know I’m going to go out to eat for supper, I’ll make sure the rest of the day is a bit lighter/healthier. Anyway, sorry for the long novel of a comment! Great job sticking with the boot camp!

    • Hi Yvette – thanks SO much for the comment. I’m glad you did. I need the reminder sometimes. When I had my best and longest-lasting weight loss success it was by exercising and writing down everything I ate. I get lazy now because I don’t like to take the time to measure and weigh but even general writing down would help.

      55 pounds? That’s absolutely AMAZING! I’m so proud of you (envious too!!). I’ll take any tips I can get to be successful like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

