• Shop Amazon

Ben’s B-Day 2014

Happy Monday!

I hope everyone had a good weekend. It was ominous and overcast the entire weekend – and yet we didn’t get rain until last night / this morning. Meanwhile it’s been a bit humid but I didn’t have to worry about shades or tons of sunscreen.

The most important news should always be first (right?). Yesterday was Ben’s birthday and we spent the day relaxing and doing whatever he wanted to do. We started the celebrating a bit early and went out for his birthday dinner on Saturday – thinking that we’d be less rushed than if we tried to cram it into a Sunday night.

Ben picked a local supper club we’d been to once before. We arrived a few minutes before serving time so we sat at the bar and watched the Brewers baseball game.

027

Ben got his usual tenderloin and fries. I went with the tenderloin kabob.

028

It also came with this weird tomato…

029

It looked pretty but after one bite I decided to pass on the rest. It was a nice, leisurely meal with a sausage and pepper appetizer from the chef, a trip to the salad bar, and a cup of chicken noodle soup. I have most of the actual meal packed up for lunch today. Didn’t get too far into it with all the other food.

The flower pot they had outside the building was so pretty that I had to take a photo of the flowers:

031

Tropical!

After dinner we went home and watched World War Z on Netflix. The following morning Ben wanted to go out for breakfast and that meant the usual eats at our favorite breakfast diner.

033

We got home and Ben poked around the Internet. I washed sheets and got them hung on the line and then tackled a quick and leisurely mile down the road. I’m trying to test out my leg to see if I am still getting the searing pain I had a month ago. The mile, light and easy, felt pretty good!

After picking up Ben’s annual strawberry pie from his folks, we went for a late lunch/early dinner at the bar so he could get his free birthday glass.

Carnivore pizza for him:

044

Cheeseburger and fries for me!

045

With full bellies we went to see my family and mom surprised Ben with a carrot cake for dessert!

046

I don’t think I’ve eaten do much bad food over the course of a day in a long, long time. But – we were celebrating! 🙂

My office is doing another 100 mile walk challenge and I signed up. My pedometer is in my pocket and I’m ready to tackle the mileage between now and July 20th. Anyone want to join in and make a goal for yourself? When I did the 100 mile challenge in 2012, I wound up just eeking out 200 miles over the 28 days. It might be a long shot, but I’m going to shoot for 200 again this time too.

Wish me luck! 🙂

We have a TON of wedding stuff coming up this week on top of the usual boot camp workouts and long work days. Should be a jam-packed week. Is it sad that I’m already counting down until the 4th so I can have an extra day out of the office??

Have a wonderful day! Make it great!

2 Responses

  1. I am glad your leg is feeling better!

    I am going to do a 400 mile bike challenge during the month of July for myself.

Leave a Reply

