• Shop Amazon

Nice Reminders and Father’s Day

Almost Friday folks! Last night I was working on addressing the last few wedding invitations. After washing the ink off my hand (a curse of being left-handed) I popped online and stumbled upon this gem:

“Planning a wedding can be stressful. Try to enjoy the process and keep it all in perspective! ♥”

I love that and need to remind myself of that a bit more over these next couple months. I have a feeling as we get closer, things are really going to get crazy!

We invited the families over for Father’s Day but Ben’s parents made plans out of town. It was a good thing my family could come because I had a TON of spinach from the garden that needed to be used!

036

I noticed a lot of little bug holes. 😦 Not what I want to see and I need to figure out if there’s a way to discourage them without spraying chemicals…

We had a lot of ingredients on hand ideal for a spinach salad so that’s what I made.

1/4 cup olive oil
1 T red wine vinegar
1 t Dijon mustard
1/2 t sugar (or 3 drops of stevia)
lemon zest

8 cups spinach
garlic chive onions (from the garden!!)
1 carton fresh raspberries
thinly sliced feta cheese
1/4 cup slivered almonds

Put all the wet ingredients in a shaker and then toss into the spinach. I found that worked better than trying to gently stir once the raspberries were in (they crumble and turn to mush). I’d suggested putting half of the coated spinach in a bowl, then add 1/2 the berries, cheese, and almonds, add the rest of the spinach and top with remaining berries, cheese, and almonds. Otherwise it all ends up at the bottom of the salad like this:

044

Still tasty but not as visually appealing. I’ve never made a spinach salad like this before and I thought it was really good!

We also cut up a ton of fruit…

043

And made it into another big fruit salad:

045

If I’m not serving dessert then sometimes I add some instant pudding (1c milk and 1c heavy cream) to the top. Plus it helps keep the fruit together on the plate when you have smaller pieces of fruit.

Ben grilled chicken bratwurst (chicken wild rice and chicken fajita). They were delicious! We need to buy them more often. We had some leftover chips from our dinner party and I also steamed broccoli since Alex isn’t much of a salad person. My delicious plate:

046

The hungry men:

048

Happy Father’s Day Dad!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

