• Shop Amazon

Death by Boot camp

trexexercise

Need motivation to exercise – isn’t that the truth??

Last night’s boot camp almost killed me. It was one of the toughest yet because there was RUNNING involved! In the past, running has been a few laps across the short side of the parking lot, NBD, but this was an entirely different story.

Team Challenge:

  • 15 Wall Balls
  • 15 pushups
  • 400m either running OR rowing

So you team up with another person and one starts on the running and the other starts on the wall balls/pushups. Once the person returns from the running, you switch – but you can’t move on until your partner is done with their piece.

400m is roughly a quarter of a mile and the longest I’ve run lately is .3. So you can imagine that the running wasn’t my strongest event here! Ben would dash out the door and I’d scramble to get my wall balls and pushups done before he returned and then dash out and die mid-way. Since I was much slower, Ben would get a nice break waiting for me to return, but I was going, going, going trying not to make him wait too long. Once I determined I was doing more walking than running, I asked to switch and try the rowing machine instead (they were supposed to be for people with knee injuries, etc who literally could not run). That was still a cardio punch but it meant I was a bit faster for Ben. At the end of the 30 minute countdown, we completed this circuit 7 times each! Woo hoo! 🙂

Another picture of my beautiful rose (Lori – I’ll pull the card out so I can tell you what kind it is). This lady is getting planted over the weekend!

021

When I got home from boot camp, Ben went to mow the front of the yard and I began lugging jugs of water to the garden. If nothing else, the garden is going to keep me fit! I still have 2 1/2 bed yet to be planted and I made 4 trips (8 watering cans) making sure everything had a nice soak.

Exciting news! All 10 of my strawberry plants are greening up now – so I got them planted in time. Hip, hip, hurray!! Also, remember how I’d basically given up on my raspberry plants? Well I spotted the tiniest bit of life on one of them. Very exciting. Now I’m hoping maybe a few others will have survived too. Just give it a bit more time. It was late when I finished watering but I’ll get some pictures over the weekend.

A fun tip I found on facebook today: if you’re traveling and need a great way to store earrings, try using large buttons. Most people have random buttons lying around – and this way your earrings stay together nicely. Brilliant!

button jewelry

3 Responses

  1. What happens if you don’t have a partner for bootcamp?

    • You go solo. A lot of the more advanced people chose that because they keep going without any breaks since they are not waiting on their partner at any time. For example, the solo people were able to complete 9-10 rounds where Ben and I completed 7.

  2. Oh man! That button trick is genius!!! And your rose is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

