• Shop Amazon

The Princess Dress

What a weekend, what a weekend! This is going to be a long post – bear with me!

Honestly, it’s AMAZING what some decent weather will do to a person’s state of mind. We had absolutely perfect weather this weekend. If every day was like this past weekend, I’d be a happy, happy girl!

My fab weekend started out with more dress hunting online. I’d found another wedding dress off-the-rack that would probably have worked, but it wasn’t anything special to me. But it was great to have an option. I went to the dress store’s website to figure out the sizing (it was too big and I wanted to gauge the difference in inches from where I am) – but I didn’t know the designer. That meant hunting through hundreds of pages of dresses and scrolling through until you find the dress. I never found it – but I did find a beautiful one that was similar to a casual style I found last year. Printed the picture out so I could try another dress store with a better example of what I was looking for.

I drove down to the new store, walked in, plopped down my picture and said “I need a dress off the rack that looks as close to this as you have”.

The lady paused, looked at the picture, and said “well we have that exact one here”.

I wasn’t that excited because if I don’t have time to order a dress, then seeing it in person 4 sizes too small isn’t going to help me at all, right? So imagine my dumbfounded look when she pulled it off the rack, flipped it around, and it was my exact size.

The dress went on, I paraded around in front of the mirror, saw the price tag, and fell over. I guess I have expensive taste because it was, by FAR, the most expensive dress I’d tried on ever. Oh boy. It went back on the rack and I went to my massage appointment to ponder the dress. I had two wonderful hours where she worked my quads and hamstrings and although my right leg isn’t 100%, everything feels a lot better.

Saturday morning I called one of my bridesmaids and we went back to the store to look at the dress. I slipped it on, walked into the room, and waited for a thumbs up or down reaction. Instead – she quizzed me on my shoes, determined it was too “white” to work with any of her veils and needed to see a mountain of their veils, picked through jewelry… And finally I just asked, “I don’t care about the details at this point. What do you think of the dress!?” She laughed and said, “it’s a done deal. We need details now.”

And that was that.

It’s crazy. The dress is simple and elegant and yet over-the-top and ridiculous. It combines every single feature I had initially envisioned except that it’s white and not ivory. I was a little sick about it because the same dress is being offered on eBay a size smaller and in the ivory… for hundreds cheaper… but I couldn’t handle winding up in the same position as before, with a dress too small and no time to fix anything. So I walked out much poorer and with a huge smile on my face. 

Wedding dress shopping, my friends, at long last is complete! And if anyone needs my old one, I need to sell it! 🙂

Whew – Saturday was crazy. Before I went dress shopping, we had another round of bootcamp. Ben made some protein smoothies for us before we went. This was strawberry Jay Robb protein powder, almond milk, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries.

001

This time class was one of the self-paced circuits that I really love. You work through non-stop on your own and don’t have to stop in the middle or watch the clock. I like the routines where you dig in and work through as hard as you can until the end.

Bootcamp Workout:

  • Kettlebell swings (x10)
  • Reverse Lunges (x10/side)
  • One-legged pushups (x10)
  • Kettlebell raises (up to chin) (x10)
  • Jack-knives (x10/side) – these are side crunches with one leg straight out, the other at 90 degrees, and you crunch up to that knee)
  • Plank (30 seconds)
  • Three laps of running outside

I brought a friend with me and she did so well. I couldn’t believe how well she kept up with my pace. Maybe I’m not pushing myself enough. 😉 I am experiencing pain on my left hip flexor, so I had to change the lunges to more squats. I’m also still getting pain when I walk more than 5 minutes straight – so evening walks haven’t been able to happen. Sad panda.

Ok, so after bootcamp and buying my dress, I got home, pranced around in front of Ben that my dress terrors were over, and got into work clothes so we could make a trip for some wood. Next project – a fruit garden bed!

015

We got the base put together, eyed up our work, and realized it was too wide for me to be able to pick anything from the center… Whomp-whomp

016

Right now it’s 6′ wide and 12′ long. We scratched our heads and went back inside to work up some ideas. Ultimately we didn’t know what would work best and decided to hold off completing this until we had a plan. We spent the rest of the day removing chicken wire from the shrubs, trimming the lawn, tackling some early dandelions, and admiring the tulips that bloomed overnight!

012

I love tulips! They make me so happy and so many more survived the rabbits (so far).

This whole plant was chewed down last year and this time I have tons of buds about to pop.

013

 Interestingly enough, we had gone weeks without a rabbit spotting and then this weekend, they came back. I know there are at least two roaming about. Time to re-set the traps with fresh carrots and cross our fingers. I need my flowers!!

Yesterday was spent running errands, stopping over to see our mothers, and hanging sheets on the line. It ended up raining around dinner time (and it’s still raining!) so I’m thrilled that the bad weather held off as long as it did. Plus, the clouds made for great coverage so we weren’t so warm working outside.

We made bun-less burgers for dinner and my veggie was sweet potato / cauliflower mashed potatoes.

010

I am not a fan of plain “mashed potato cauliflower” because the texture is off and the taste isn’t there. But each time I’ve mixed cauliflower with potatoes, I’ve loved the results. This was no exception!

015

We had some organic raw cheddar cheese that we grated on top. Such a delicious meal! We’re still plugging away on the diet end of things but the scale just isn’t moving. I stayed exactly the same this week from last. A bummer but I’m hoping that means some bigger numbers are in store soon!

So there you have it! Tons of sunshine, fresh air, and my wedding dress. I should do a countdown of all the dresses I tried on the month before my wedding. I doubt anyone has tried on more. Holy cow! 🙂

6 Responses

  1. So glad you found a dress – that must be such a relief! For your garden bed, you could leave it as is and put some cinderblocks down the middle as a walking path so you can get in there.

    • Yeah we considered that as the easiest idea – but I cringed at the wasted space we’d be loading up (organic soil here is NOT cheap). We’re now looking at making it two smaller beds with a small mulched path up the middle.

      yes – definitely relieved about the dress. expected it to be hard but not such a gut-wrenching process.

  2. Congratulations on finding the dress. It sounds like it was just meant to be. Forget about the expense now, you’ve bought it and you’re only going to get married once. Make the best of it. Splurge!

  3. So glad to hear you found your perfect wedding dress. Now enjoy planning the rest of your wedding day. My daughter bought her flowers for her bouquet the morning of her wedding at the local Farmers Market. They were beautiful. Good luck planning your garden bed. We’ve had a lot of rain in the past 24 hours, which could be heading your way.

  4. Congratulations!!!!! Everything has a way of working out in the end, right?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

