• Shop Amazon

When Your Best Intentions Fail

Good morning everyone!!

Have you ever been in a situation where you set a goal, put together a reasonable plan, and started moving forward with excitement and purpose only to be derailed by something beyond your control? I think we’ve all been there at one time or another and it’s so easy to get frustrated and quit, but I think it helps to realize that no matter what your goal is, you can still work towards it in smaller steps. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing.

It doesn’t have to be all or nothing

With ~4 months before my wedding, I know there’s no chance I’m going to fit into the dress I bought. I need a new plan. Part of me was frustrated at the lost $$$ and now having to resort to whatever is currently in stock – and I felt like giving up. I mean, why keep up with any weight loss goals if it won’t help? But of course that’s not the right way to look at it. I pulled back my sleeves, joined bootcamp, and set up a plan for 3x a week bootcamp and 3x a week walking outside.

This went really well the first week (heck I lost 4 pounds!) but in the last week and a half I’ve been in constant pain whenever I try and walk. So.. the walking is temporarily out. I’ve also only lost 1 pound in that week+. That’s discouraging too. Again, it would be easier to give up. It would be easier to just toss this all away, grab a chocolate chip cookie, and sit on the couch with a book. My health is more important to me though, so I’m trucking along and modifying to make things work.

It doesn’t have to be all or nothing

Here are some of the things I’m trying to do now:

  • Do less but do something. Maybe I can’t go for a long walk each night like I’d planned, but I can walk down my driveway a few times and then be able to safely stop when my leg begins to hurt
  • Work through whatever is holding you back. I never would have thought it would be IT band issues. Shin splints, wrist issues – yes. But I’m foam rolling and trying out new stretches. I have a massage scheduled this Friday so my leg can be worked on too
  • Don’t set yourself up to fail. Whenever I start a new fitness idea, I make a chart. I’m visual and like tracking weekly weigh-ins. The issue is I set goals for myself each week – and what happens when you get a week or two in and you’re already not meeting your goals? So now, instead of setting goals I can’t really control (like losing X amount each week) I set ones that I can totally make (staying within a calorie limit, exercising x times, etc…)
  • Be proud of yourself. Ouch – this one is hard for me. I’m my own biggest enemy and I need to stop and pat myself on the back for my efforts. Too often I critize because I should have exercised more, ate better, etc… I gained weight back, yes, but when I look at my highest weight – I’ve still kept quite a bit off and that’s deserving of a high-five.

Anyway, I guess what I’m trying to say is that life isn’t perfect and sometimes despite our best efforts, things don’t go the way we plan. That goes for anything – not just weight loss, nutrition, or fitness. So be kind to yourself, keep moving along, and know that every step you take forward brings you closer to where you want to be. The best part? The size of the step doesn’t even matter!

And because we all need something fun and exciting – my lillies are starting to pop up! I’m determined to keep some away from those pesky rabbits so we can see what colors they end up being. I’m thinking pink right now. 🙂

026

2 Responses

  1. You SHOULD be proud! Celebrate the successes, regardless of how small, and keep looking ahead! I have a massage this weekend, too! Can’t wait!

  2. Hey, it’s okay! It isn’t all or nothing, that is for sure. You jumped into a heavy duty workout program and your body is probably protesting pretty hard. I think a massage is a great idea.

    I could send you my wedding dress and you could be thrilled at how much alteration it would need to make it small enough to fit you. Just for a perspective 🙂

Leave a Reply

