• Shop Amazon

Spaghetti Squash Adventures

We’ve been embracing the Paleo guidelines and although we’re not 100% paleo, we’re pretty darn close. One of the things they talk about a LOT in class is using spaghetti squash as a pasta substitute. My mother had made a “spaghetti” bake using squash and it was pretty tasty, so Ben jumped at the idea and insisted we try it ourselves!

 

015

I think cutting through the squash is the hardest part! 🙂  We cut the squash in half, scooped out the seeds, and rubbed some olive oil over the inside. Then we cooked them flesh-side-down and cooked until a fork easily pierced through the skin.

016

If you’ve never worked with spaghetti squash, it’s pretty cool how you can take a fork and start getting the spaghetti strands. One squash makes a ton of spaghetti! We used one half for dinner and put the other in the fridge for a quick meal later in the week.

017

We just tossed this with some pasta sauce and ground chicken and voila! dinner was done.

018

The flavor is pretty mild but it’s a bit more crunchy than you’d expect. Maybe we didn’t cook it quite long enough? I’m not sure. It’s also watery so you’ll want to keep that in mind if your sauce is a bit on the runny side too. We had some left over so Ben packed it for his lunch today. For comparison, one cup of spaghetti squash runs about 40 calories and 10g of carbs. One cup of regular pasta is 220 calories and 43g of carbs. So for those looking to cut back on calories or carbs, this is something to try.

Last night was a rest day but I felt amazing. Ben was feeling sore and stiff in his shoulders and back and I did my fair share of gloating over how good I felt. I hit the foam roller a few times (which was not fun, but I can tell it helps).

This morning? Umm. different story. This is all very new to me because usually when I exercise I get sore the next day. I’m not used to a 2-3 day delay. Of course, I’ve never, ever done this kind of fitness regime before and my poor body probably doesn’t know what to do with me. 🙂 I’m reading up on DOMS, trying to keep as hydrated as possible, and stretch.

Tonight is team competition night and I’m pretty nervous again. While I know they tell me to go at my own pace, you can’t help but not want to be slow and mess your team up. Fingers crossed they pair us up with another slower person again. 🙂 Our 28 day kickstart ends on the 21st so then we’ll get our ending measurements taken and determine if we want to sign up for another month or not.

Ok time to move my aching muscles and get to work. Happy Wednesday!

8 Responses

  1. If it was crunchy you didn’t cook it long enough. The first time I made it, I loved it. But then I made it once and got that crunchy texture and hated it! So give it another go!

    • That’s what I was thinking. We have some extra in the fridge and I’ll give it some extra cooking time. It’s so strange how (with one eye closed and standing 10 feet away) it looks very similar to the quinoa pasta we used to eat all the time. 🙂

  2. I like spaghetti squash, but it’s not my favorite. It definitely can’t make up for pasta in my opinion!!

    • Can’t say it’s right up there with a piece of dark chocolate either, but ya gotta make sacrifices to get to goal in a short time!!! 🙂

      And it wasn’t bad – Ben actually thought it was pretty good.

  3. I keep wanting to like spaghetti squash as a pasta sub, but I just can’t. It’s the same with pretending mashed cauliflower is like mashed potatoes. It’s not LOL!

    • Ha whoever said straight-up cauliflower tastes like mashed potatoes was a liar. BUT I’ve found if you do half and half (pots and cauli) that it’s actually pretty good, there’s enough starchy texture, and the potato taste comes through more. We’ve done that quite a bit.

  4. I really love spaghetti squash because it’s so light. Unfortunately, it’s the one squash that Ted refuses to eat.

Leave a Reply

