• Shop Amazon

Bootcamp Misery

Here we are – almost at the end of the week! I feel like a piece of meat that’s been thoroughly hammered with a mallet. I’m sore on top of my sore. ๐Ÿ™‚ But despite the pain, it feels really good to be back on a structured regime. We’re eating really well and having just completed our third workout last night I’m feeling pretty optimistic.

They really do a lot to welcome people and make them feel part of a community. We got handwritten welcome cards in the mail along with all our recipe suggestion books and bootcamp info guide:

006

Yesterday was a big surprise though. We got home and found balloons tied down with Kind bars on our front door!! They were “Congrats” balloons for taking a step towards better fitness and a little snack – totally awesome! What fitness place does that?

004

In class last night we picked up our swag bags with water bottles and journals to write down anything we want: food, weight, measurements, our class recap, muscle soreness, etc…

007

Last night was Team Competition night. Since we’re part of the 28 day program, each class is a circuit of some kind and this class “competed” against the morning and afternoon class. We broke into teams ofย 3 and formed a line. They had stations along the way with a particular exercise and number of reps on it. Person 1 would move to the first station, complete the exercise, move to the next station, and then Person 2 could begin. You couldn’t pass anyone on your team and you had to wait for everyone to complete a full circuit before making a chalk mark on the ground and starting again.

It was 30 minutes of torture! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. 3 Burpees
  2. 6 Pushups
  3. 9 Squats
  4. 12 Situps
  5. 15 Wall Balls

You go up the station completing all 5 exercises, turn around and do them all in reverse order, and that’s 1 circuit. We got through 5 times in the 30 minutes and my quads were literally crying before it was even over. Ben and I were on the same team but we had a lady who has been a member for over 2 months and I didn’t want to hold her up. Luckily they didn’t put us with the more advanced people. I wouldn’t have made it!

Here’s a really good example of one of our dinners this week. You know we get an F when it comes to veggies – especially greens, so this is a gold star for us. We cooked a chicken breast on the grill, cut it in half, and piled a salad with a mix of baby kale, spinach and chard, red & yellow peppers, sunflower sprouts, green onion, and some balsamic vinegar dressing.

002

Typically this hasn’t been quite enough to keep me full all night (especially if we eat early) so I’ll eat an apple with a tablespoon of almond butter later on.

I’ve been trying really hard not to weigh myself this week because I don’t want to possibly be discouraged and not want to keep going. It’s difficult for me to put the scale away for an entire week though. I don’t know how some people can go months without weighing themselves!

Tonight is an off night from bootcamp, and I have dinner plans. It’s always challenging to eat out and stay on diet, so I’ll research the menu ahead of time so I can make an informed decision.

Time to get my sore body out the door. Have a good one!

4 Responses

  1. That’s one awesome bootcamp, inspiring such team spirit. You’re going to do great.

  2. I hate burpees. Hate them. So i rarely do them, although I am supposed to start with this next part of my lifting program.

    That sounds like a great group you got involved in! I love the stuff they are doing for you.

    • I can’t do full burpees. I drop down and do one foot back at a time and then push up and hop both feet back in before jumping up to clap. So almost there – and they are killer!!!

Leave a Reply

