• Shop Amazon

A Long Walk

Ahh last night was so wonderful! We had an off day from boot camp which meant we didn’t have anywhere we absolutely needed to go. Instead, we made a relaxed dinner and then went to Bed Bath & Beyond to do our final wrap-up of our registry (although I’d imagine things will change between now and September).

I found some pictures from Friday that never made it to the blog and thought I’d share them now. One of the things I’ve wanted to do for a while was walk to the Mexican restaurant by our house. It’s not quite a 5k round-trip and since it was so gorgeous last week, we strapped on our shoes and walked for our meal.

Across the bridge:

005

You can tell Winter is over now (we hope) because there’s some serious road construction work needed!

008

I’ve been having some weird muscle pain on the outside of my thigh – an inch or so up from my knee – which made walking a bit painful. So we took the whole route pretty leisurely.

For dinner, I went with my favorite: a beef and a chicken taco, mexican rice, and re-fried beans:

006

I’m already craving another plate. I don’t know why, but I love their tacos. The re-fried beans, not as much – I wish they offered black.

Delicious tacos and the sweetest date on earth:

007

Definitely a wonderful time!

Now that we’re in the midst of our first week of bootcamp, tacos with shells and cheese are no longer allowed. 😦 Ben actually found the bootcamp place in town and signed us both up – even though he already hits the gym every week day. He said he wanted to help support me now that I need some plan for weight loss. I think I mentioned yesterday – this is a 28 day “bootcamp” of sorts. You have to go at least 3 times a week and follow their nutrition plan. Then after the 28 days are over, they do your ‘after’ measurements and weight and you can decide if you want to do another month or even transition into one of their strength and conditioning classes.

The nutrition plan they follow is the Paleo diet. In a very basic nutshell – we have to eliminate sugars, grains, and dairy. We’re rocking the grain thing but I’m not 100% off the dairy yet. We have some Greek yogurt in the fridge, I have whey protein powder, and I absolutely need cream in my coffee (but I’m down to one cup a day at work!).

So like anyone does when they’re handed a nutrition shopping list: we stocked up on “good” foods the diet allows:

017

We picked up a few things that we don’t usually eat (read: never) like artichokes, spaghetti squash, and balsamic vinegar. I have NO idea why/how kale chips ended up in the cart. The one time I made some myself, Ben hated them. Maybe he’s decided to give it another go? We also picked up a bag of double dark chocolate chips. Dairy-free and dark chocolate is on the OK list. Can’t figure that out since all sugar (unless it’s cocoa powder) contains sugars, but I’m not going to question the chocolate!!!

018

I wish we’d had this shopping list before we went to Trader Joe’s and got all these fun new things to try. Oh well! I’ve always done better with time-boxed goals so I am confident I can rock these 28 days. Ideally I’ll see some good results and it will be the jump I need to get back on the bandwagon.

In the meantime, I’m SORE. The pain moves around a lot but right now it’s the front of my legs and my abs that are crying for mercy. No Mercy!!! Bwahahaha. 🙂 It’ll be exciting to see what’s in store for us tonight. I’m hoping it’s warmer than predicted because I liked being able to take a short walk afterwards and keep the blood flowing. I think that’s been helping recovery. Sitting in a desk at work all day does not (note to self: take more quick breaks to walk and stretch legs).

Speaking of work, I’m off! It’s already Wednesday and I don’t usually say it, but this week is flying by!

2 Responses

  1. Do you have a foam roller? That will really help with the muscle soreness. At least going 3 times a week, the soreness will stop in a week or so.

    I like the principles of the paleo approach for the no processed foods, but I did more of my own version that allows potatoes and dairy. I only eat bread about twice a week (bagels) and I really don’t miss it. Which is weird because I used to eat a lot of bread.

    • I have a foam roller – but I’m bad at using it. Need to watch more YouTube videos!

      I like specific meal plans to help get quicker results but I think eventually you have to make modifications in order for it to truly be realistic long-term. I doubt I could ever go without dairy 100%

Leave a Reply

