• Shop Amazon

Figure Skating: Ice Dance Round-up

I’m absolutely BURIED in midterm exams over here. I spent all of Friday, all of yesterday, and this morning on Accounting and I finally have it completed. I know a few questions are wrong but I don’t have the mental fortitude to spend any more time on it. Heck, I have FOUR other things due on Wednesday. Gotta keep moving!

In the middle of all this, I’m still faithfully trying to keep up with all the figure skating coverage. I love watching it online because I get to see so many more performances compared with the few they show during prime time, but it kills too much time during the day.

The men’s event – wow. I felt bad for Patrick Chan. He was handed the gold on a silver platter and just fell apart. It’s easy to see how the favorites get buried with so much pressure and the winner sometimes ends up being the dark horse that the media leaves alone. I almost choked listening to Scott Hamilton after the event – he really seemed like he was struggling to get the words out. I think he too understood that maybe the pressure and media got to Chan.

With all that being said, I did pick two of the three medal guys correct and along with 2 out of 3 for the pairs, I’m on a roll. Ice dance is the most boring (for me) because unless top couples make mistakes, there is almost no fluctuation in standings and much less anticipation over who will win. This time around, I’m expecting to get all three not only correct, but in the right medal spot as well.

Meryl Davis and Charlie White – Gold

Photo Credit: Jared Wickerham

Davis and White are the US’s only real chance at an individual event medal and they’re predicted to win gold. They have been flitting as the #2 ice dance team for the last 5 or 6 years but in the past 18 months, they’ve broken into a stride and barring any major mistakes, they’ll easily glide away from Sochi with a gold medal. They were the saving grace for an otherwise lackluster American team and are the reason USA was able to claim the bronze in the team event.

Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir – Silver

TESSA VIRTUE and Scott Moir at 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi

Photo Credit: eurosport

I’m probably going to get a lot of flack for saying this, but these two are my favorites. When you watch year after year, sometimes a certain program really gets you and stands out for years to come. I fell in love with them during the 2008 World Championships when they skated a beautiful program to the Umbrellas of Cherbourg. I was ecstatic when they walked away with the gold medal in Vancouver 4 years ago and would love to see them repeat. I just don’t see that happening though and they’ll settle for 2nd.

Nathalie Pechalat and Fabian Bourzat – Bronze

Pechalat and Bourzat of France during figure skating team ice dance short dance at Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics

Photo Credit: DAVID GRAY/REUTERS

The French are the 2015 Grand Prix bronze medalists and I don’t see why they wouldn’t repeat that showing at the Olympics. Again, once the general levels are set in an ice dance routine, there isn’t much shifting. Since there are no jumps or throws, couples aren’t throwing in last minute changes to rack up more points. You go out with what you’ve got and skate clean to stay exactly where you were in the previous event you entered.

I’m excited to see the Ice Dancing tonight. We’ll see how my predictions stand. Now I’m off to crank out more homework so I have the time to watch tonight!!!

Leave a Reply

