• Shop Amazon

Cold, Cold Go Away

If I had my wish, I’m not sure if I would wish for the cold weather to go away or my sniffling head cold. Would you believe it’s been over a week and this funky congestion is just hanging in there? It’s not even the nasal congestion that’s bad, it’s the energy drain this illness seems to have. Somewhere around 2pm I hit a wall and feel like I am ready to crash for the night… and the energy never comes up again until the next morning.

The pairs short programs last night were brilliant. I remember a couple Olympics ago where all of the top teams made mistakes and the whole event seemed disjointed. It’s never fun when you have to watch the judges split hairs over whose mistakes were less alarming. I’m excited for a good conclusion tonight!

One of our new quick recipes this week has been pulled pork and sugar snap peas. We got to sample the pulled pork at Costco and thought it would be easy to just heat-and-serve. I really love pork. πŸ™‚ It’s higher calorie than chicken and since both Ben and I are calorie counting right now, we are carefully portioning everything out so we don’t go overboard.

022

I was actually really excited about the peas. Normally broccoli is our go-to veggie but we bought a big bag of organic snap peas and it’s been harmony on the stovetop. Preparing them has been easy: I sautee them in grapeseed oil and toss in minced onion, minced garlic, a bit of salt and finish with a drizzle of tamari. I like mine slightly al dente and they take almost no time to cook. It’s fun for something a little different.

Ben’s been on fire hitting the gym and tracking his calories. I’m feeling a little bummed because he’s on this incredible workout/exercise rah-rah phase and I barely have the energy to stay awake. Ben’s only trying to lose 15 pounds or so – just enough to tone up and have more muscle definition. Although his myFitnessPal app is showing only a 2lb weight loss:

45428887

He actually hit 7 pounds in his first week. Sigh. I wouldn’t be surprised if he hits his goal early March. I’m still feeling like I have a ways to go – and the clock is tick, tick, ticking down on me. But, gotta get well first!

Class tonight and we get handed Midterm #1 on the way out the door. Fingers crossed these midterms are doable within a week. Otherwise there won’t be much Olympic viewing and too much sitting at the kitchen table scratching my head. πŸ™‚

One Response

  1. You’re definitely right! Health is always more important πŸ™‚ Feel better…you got this!

Leave a Reply

