• Shop Amazon

From “too fat” to “too skinny”

Has anyone been keeping up with the firestorm online over the latest Biggest Loser contestant’s finale makeover? I’ve been watching the hubbub grow over the past two days and I am puzzled and keep scratching my head…

Now – I’ll start off my mentioning that I didn’t watch the show so I don’t know the little nuances, but I saw that the BL trainers were slack-jawed and apparently shocked over her transformation in the final episode (and not in a good way).

Here’s Rachel’s before and after shots:

BiggestLoser_Finale_Rachel

Rachel Frederickson (Credit: Paul Drinkwater/Trae Patton/NBC)

So she went from 260 pounds starting to 105 pounds at the finale – and she’s 5’5″ – so her BMI would be around 17.5 (anything under 18.5 is considered “underweight”).

I’m actually torn a bit. It’s a competition with a TON of money at stake, so I would expect her to be competitive. Honestly? I think she looks incredible. She has amazing definition in her legs now and a glow about her. Some of the gauntness in her arms could be the pose, not to mention all the loose skin she probably still sees. When my own father lost a bunch of weight a few years back, his face looked horrible. People look younger with rounder faces I think.

Anyway, if she put on just 7 pounds, she’d be in the “normal” BMI range. I think what’s more interesting and noteworthy is not whether or not she lost too much weight, but how critical everyone is about her weight loss. The girl probably spent years thinking she was too fat and now, through hard work, she’s too skinny. Can a person never just be embraced for who they are and not how much they weigh? She looked so confident and excited when she stepped out at the finale and instead of congratulations, she was met with disgusted looks from the trainers and fellow contestants. I think she looks gorgeous. I think she did an amazing job sticking with it and, like she’s also said, I think she’ll find that balance living life. She’ll find a full time job and key down the exercise and be perfectly fine.

I’m interested to read your thoughts on this. What do you guys think?

2 Responses

  1. I think society’s standards are so ridiculous. But I do think now she may have a disordered view of nutrition. I am afraid that she may take it too far now that she’s reached her goal weight. Maintenance is tough…

  2. I don’t watch the show, but to me she doesn’t look as healthy as she should. I know part of that is the dehydration to make definition, but your elbows and shoulders shouldn’t stick out like that. And her face in close up shots is fairly gaunt. She is only 24 and looks much older now. What bothers me is that if they go by BMI – should someone win who is in the underweight category and therefore setting a bad example?

Leave a Reply

