• Shop Amazon

A Winning Routine

And so the slow slide into the weekend begins…

Last night I was sitting on the sofa reading a book on my tablet (I’ve officially converted) when it dawned on my that I’ve slipped back into the uber-structured routine that accompanies the school semester. It’s almost a necessity to have everything planned out in order to get everything done on time. Ben and I have a morning routine, which just naturally happened but ensures we both aren’t in the way of one another getting ready for work and are out the door with lunches in hand at exactly the same time each morning.

While routine isn’t particularly interesting or exciting, I’m now fitting things into my schedule that I really enjoy. For example, during past semesters I never had time to do any joy-reading. Everything I picked up was a textbook. But now, I have an hour each night designated to homework and if the homework is done, that’s reading time baby! I love it. πŸ™‚

Ooh! I hit my January goal last night. Ben went with me to BodyPump so I would follow through and brave the cold. They started the new release of this quarter and the triceps and biceps tracks are killer. I have gotten past the not-being-able-to-walk-after-class thing so I’ve been slowly adding more weights onto the workout sections that are easier for me (squats & back). My arms are weak. Ha ha

I’ve already been turning my attention to February goals. February is almost here!!! Since my primary goal of the year is to fit into my wedding dress, I was thinking I need one goal each month that is working in that direction and then the other can be anything miscellaneous.

Ben has also decided to get “serious” and lose 15 or 20 pounds. He signed up for myfitnesspal and coaxed me to as well. I’d been a long-time SparkPeople user but their app isn’t free. So now we’re both set up and I’ve been logging my food for the past 2 days.

myfitnesspal

Honestly, I hate logging calories but it’s so effective. Apparently my calories needed to lose a pound a week are 1490. I think logging my eats will end up being a February goal.

We got home from Pump sweaty but triumphant and dinner was Omaha Steak burgers, broccoli, and potatoes.

003

It was delicious. I think food tastes best when you’re super-duper hungry!! πŸ™‚

So I have Accounting class tonight. Luckily, the teacher for this class has a long commute so she lets us out early instead of the usual 9:15pm time. Hurrah! It makes it a bit easier having classes on back-to-back nights whenΒ they both aren’t super late.

Ok, I’m off and running. It’s cold out but the wind chill is much better. I’m waiting for that 20 degree day so I can finally wash all the salt off my car. It looks completely white!

4 Responses

  1. Ohhh let’s be MFP friends! I am a tracker addict!

  2. Whenever John says he wants to drop weight and get serious, I sigh. Because he will and I will still stay on my super duper slow pace and try not to get irritated πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

