• Shop Amazon

What about Virginia?

Oh boy – we got SIX inches of snow yesterday and that was actually one of the less-hit areas around here. There were a lot of schools that let out at lunchtime or shortly after and Ben drove home at lunch and worked from home the afternoon as well. Since I had been graciously dropped off, I didn’t have to worry about anything and just called my darling chauffeur when I was ready to come home.

While that much snow is difficult under normal conditions, the wind was so ridiculous that the blowing and gusting made for small patches of white-out conditions as you drove.

See all that funky mist in the air? My camera doesn’t show it well, but that’s all the snow blowing across the backyard:

006

There were a few times the wind hit the house so hard we heard a loud BOOM and thought something smacked into the side of the house (a large animal, garbage can, etc…) so I actually went out and investigated. I came back covered head to toe in snow but all was well. There were a few drifts by the house that came up to chest level on me!

My Grandpa (Gramps) sent us a box of Omaha Steak products for Christmas and we decided to pan-fry some of the sirloin steaks since grilling in this weather seemed like a bad idea. Ben was in charge of the meat.

007

I wanted to make some “fried” potatoes & veggies:

008

A bit of grapeseed oil, carrots and potatoes that were boiled for a few minutes to soften, broccoli, garlic powder, minced onion, salt & pepper

The steaks were 6oz and I think Ben is used to a larger portion. Still, with all the veggies he ended up full. I think it’s easy to underestimate how filling potatoes and veggies can be – probably because we don’t eat them very often.

011

Ben just popped in and informed  me that he is going to “off-road” this morning. This means he will not be snow-blowing but will gun the car over the huge snowbank and down the driveway. I think he wants to snowblow tonight when I’m making dinner and getting ready for class. Not that I blame him, it’s never fun being cold and wet and then having to go to work.

I’ve heard a lot of people mention how Virginia is a nice area to live if you want more moderate temps. I’ll admit the idea of moving away from family seems scary but I know, eventually, we’re going to want to move to a place where I don’t feel like a shut-in 4-5 months of the year. It gets harder each year.

Fun question for today: if you could move anywhere, where would you go and why???

7 Responses

  1. California, I live in norther california and our weather is a bit crazy this year no rain all sun in the 70 today. I look forward to reading your blog every day.

    • Aww what a fabulous compliment. Thanks for being a devoted reader – I really appreciate it!

      I’ll take some sunshine and 70s today. It’s overcast and cloudy (and 17) here today. You’re making me jealous!!

  2. I’m like you with winter driving and all that goes with it. I hardly drive in the winter anymore. We are in a Blizzard Watch Thursday. No fun. I live in southern MN and we get a lot of wind and blowing snow. Roads gets icy and I live in a rural area – closest town is 1/2 hr. away. I’ve always heard the San Diego area is a nice place to live, weather wise. Not too hot and not too cold. Have a great winter day. Sun is shining here but it is 12 degrees and I’m not looking forward to Thursday’s weather.

    • I’ve heard good things about San Diego too – I just wonder about earthquakes… I am a wimp!!

      My fingers and toes are crossed that Thursday isn’t too terrible. Hopefully they clear the roads quickly for you. There is NOTHING as miserable as driving on bad roads.

  3. New Orleans. In a heartbeat. Well, I would keep our home in NY for the gorgeous summers up here, but winter down in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

