• Shop Amazon

Warming Up

Howdy folks! We’re at the tail end of the work week and the temps are supposed to reach the positive teens today! Current temps are at -11 but the wind chill has significantly died down, so back to school for the kiddos.

I have not yet heard from my Core Power Giveaway winner – if I don’t hear by the end of today, I’ll post a new winner tomorrow.

Speaking of Core Power, I had the strawberry banana shake for lunch yesterday, and it was awesome. It doesn’t have that weird plastic-chalk taste a lot of protein drinks do. Yes, it’s more expensive than my bargain brand Premiere Protein but it tastes edible and the ingredient list is soooo much better.  002

I’m still monitoring my hair loss and it doesn’t seem to be slowing down much. whomp-whomp I’m trying not to worry about it but each week I clean out my hair brush and cringe at the significant amount of hair I’m still losing. It’s got to slow down at some point. Who knows, maybe I’ll need to chop it all off and get some sexy wig? 😉

Ben got called to a last minute end-of-day meeting so I was on my own for dinner last night. I made a big bowl of steel cut oats. It’s been a long time since I’ve had oats and this hit the spot. I cooked it with a mashed banana, a few chopped pecans, unsweetened coconut, some cinnamon and a sprinkle of mini chips on top.

001

Isn’t it funny how, until a few years ago when I began reading blogs, I’d never heard of anyone eating oatmeal with anything other than fruit or sugar on top? Oh how times have changed. 🙂

I made it through the first night of class. We have a brand new teacher for Accounting and it was a rough start. We have some people in our class with no Accounting background at all and others who have been controllers for over a decade. It’s hard to keep the experienced people engaged while explaining things enough for those who missed Accounting in their undergrad curriculum. I think it may be a bit painful. All our weekly homework is due Sunday mornings, which means I have Friday after work and Saturdays to crank it out. Not a lot of time but hopefully it will help me to not procrastinate!!

I’m heading to a Toastmasters officer training on Saturday. I am the VP of Education in our club at work and we attend training twice a year. I’ve got my first communication and leadership designations now and I’m working toward the next level. It’s taken me 3 years to knock the first two out though, so I’m wondering if I’ll want to keep up with the program or do something else now.

I’ve got my next class tonight. I actually am excited for this one because I’ve heard it’s a great class and we explore process improvement, Lean and Six Sigma techniques, and concepts I might be able to apply in my job. So fingers are crossed! 🙂

One Response

  1. Mmmm those oats look awesome 🙂 Hoping for some warmer temps here soon!

Leave a Reply

