• Shop Amazon

2013 Rewind

Does anyone else love year end blog reviews as much as I do? Sometimes I get to the end of the year and I can’t remember all of the things that happened unless I stop and take a few moments to peek through past posts. This year, I’m shocked because so many wonderful things have happened. So here’s a short look down 2013 memory lane. Please come walk with me. šŸ™‚

-January/February-

It seems like forever ago, but January there was absolutely nothing on my mind more than Alex being picked for the 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games in South Korea. I still get tears reading through my posts remembering what it was like waiting from home, pacing in the kitchen, and shaking as I answered the phone and waited to hear the results after each of his events.

Alex 2-4 2

 

Olympic Preliminaries

1600m Final

5K Final

Alex brought home a silver and bronze as well as memories that will last a lifetime and tons of adoring local and international fans. I’ve never been so proud of him.

March-

After 10 years, I traded in my old car and bought a new set of wheels. To be honest, while I love my heated seats, I still do miss my first car. Here’s hoping this new one lasts just as long!

DSC05056

 

I also got super excited watching my new flower beds begin to appear. I delighted in the new buds and grimaced when the rabbits came and devoured most of my beautiful tulips!

011

 

Oh yeah, one other little thing happened at the very end of March. I got engaged!!!

Engagement Post

Ben proposed on my brother Matt’s birthday and the family all got to watch. Everyone knew but me and it remains the best-kept secret of the year. Usually I have a way of figuring these things out. I’m sneaky…

-April-

In April, I bought a shiny new bike with plans to hit the pavement hard and rack up some serious (relatively speaking) mileage.

005

 

It didn’t turn out that way, but I’m still glad I bought it and we’ll see if it gets more use in the new year.

-May-

We set our wedding date in May, picked out our wedding venue, and began all the wedding plans. It felt weird to have a May wedding but at the same time it felt like miles away… I was obsessed with the crabapple trees in our yard and took way, way too many pictures.

003

 

May also brought about the creation of my very own vegetable garden!!!

How we built our garden

I have big plans for 2014. We need to expand! Ben, get our shovel ready!! (Muhahahaha!!)

-June-

I have my friend Jeff to thank for his inspiring 50lb weight loss. He told me about the diet he was on and I jumped on board, with a goal to lose the 40 pounds I’d gained while on steroids for my nose and pounds from the over-eating misery of gaining the steroid weight (ha!).

Oh yes, and we became expert rabbit trappers!

006

 

-July-

July was spent whining about not being able to eat peaches but also delighting in losing weight. Plus, we saw the first bounty from our garden!

018

 

-August-

August was a difficult month because I began to get worried about wedding dress shopping. I felt so much pressure to find a decent dress and nothing was working.

Alex rappelled off Lambeau Field,

LL3

 

while his land-loving sister preferred to sit in the stadium for a preseason game:

056

– September-

We cheered Alex on for his first full marathon! He did amazingly well despite a lack of salt and some serious after-race recovery issues. He’s determined to improve his time next year!

029

We also made tons of salsa and filled our freezer full of tomato puree straight from the garden.

001

(somewhere along the road, we moved the wedding date from May 2014 to Sept 2014 and all is much better in Ali’s Wonderland)

 

-October-

October brought a wonderful weekend trip back to my alma-mater. We saw a play, drove all around the city, and participated in a 5K run/walk.

045

 

I also got brave and posted my first (and last?) progress pictures of my weight loss. It’s still hard to look at the work in progress, but I’m getting there and that beats the wishing and hoping, right?

4 months

 

I also found my wedding dress! Fitting into said dress will no doubt be my #1 goal in the coming year.

 

-November-

November was fantastic because, after almost 5 months, I hit my 40 pound weight loss goal. Nothing else in the month compared to that!

003

 

We also had a marvelous Thanksgiving filled with tons of good food and family. I wrapped up two more classes and tucked another semester away in the bag!

-December-

December was filled with visions of sugar plums dancing in my head. I love the Christmas season and got so excited finding perfect gifts for my friends and family.

I bought a long-overdue and much needed winter coat (the warmest of the bunch won – warmth over fashion my friends!)

005

 

We enjoyed lots of cookie baking, merriment, and time with family.

006

 

2013 was a fabulous year and I know 2014 is going to be even better. I have graduation in May and my wedding in September. So many fun things are in store and, as always, I’m ever so thankful for you, my blog readers, for your friendship and advice over the year.

Have a Happy New Year!!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. You certainly had an exciting year! I hope 2014 is just as much. Happy New Year!

  2. What a wonderful year you had in 2013 and I hope 2014 brings many more happy memories! Happy New Year Ali & Ben!

Leave a Reply

