• Shop Amazon

Christmas in Full Swing?

It’s a game. Every year I wait and see how long it is before I hear the first Christmas tune on the radio, see the first commercial, or begin to see the holiday merchandise popping up in the stores.

Let’s face it, we all think it comes earlier and earlier every year. Maybe it does, I don’t know. While I understand that waiting on all Christmas merchandise and promotions until after Thanksgiving would shorten an already short window between the holidays, I still had a hard time wrapping my head around the Holiday merchandise right next to the orange and black Halloween displays. Let’s wait until after Halloween, mmmkay?

But now that Halloween is past, everyone looks to be plowing ahead into Christmas land. I *love* Christmas, so I can’t really complain and yet I’m still amused walking through the mall and hearing It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year. It will be, in a month. Not right now. Sheesh ๐Ÿ™‚

When Ben and I were looking for Fall clearance deals, we stumbled upon the fake Christmas tree lot in one of the stores. Is it surprising that we had the entire section of the store all to ourselves? Is it shocking that I made poor Ben watch me giggle and point at all the fake trees that we absolutely do not need and then jokingly pick out the largest one that was on sale for $899 and ask him to get it for me this Christmas. Hee

004

Seriously, we look good together ๐Ÿ˜‰

002

Of course, the thing wouldn’t fit in our house but those are the kind of details I can’t be bothered with. That’s what Ben is for – to point out those tiny little details to me.

003

I missed my calling on the Price is Right as a showcase model…

The morning radio shows and Internet searches are all showing Black Friday bonanza again. Kmart is opening at 6am on Thanksgiving morning? Walmart at 8pm? Why not just offer the hourly sales throughout Black Friday and into Saturday instead? I actually think that’s a brilliant idea for keeping people IN your store and keeping them coming back again to buy more. I just feel like Thanksgiving is becoming more and more washed away in the prepping and planning of the shopping to come.

Ben went to open play for soccer last night so I spent the evening taking some downtime. No school work, no cleaning – I played a few online games and caught up on the latest Revenge episode. Dinner was an omelet loaded with peppers that I froze from our garden, broccoli, green onion, and some shredded cheese alongside a decaf french vanilla coffee. Mmm mmm.

008

I got the final exam for one of my classes this morning and have about 2 weeks to complete it. I’m thinking of getting a head start so I can wind the semester up as early as possible. My mind feels like it’s jumping off the wall in anticipation of wrapping this semester up and having a delicious month+ of time before my last semester begins.

Bring it.

Looks cold outside – bring your gloves with youย Wisconsin folks. I think you’ll need ’em today!

 

4 Responses

  1. I love your pose with the tree! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You are looking great in the pictures!

Leave a Reply

