• Shop Amazon

“Man Chili” Takes 2nd

I’m impressed this morning. Ben’s bacon, beer, and bean “man chili” took second place at the chili contest he entered at work. How hilarious is that!?

I’ve been waking up the past several mornings with a huge headache. I’m thinking it could be caffeine-related, but I tend to get those further into the late morning / early afternoon if I haven’t had any coffee yet. Not sure what’s going on there but it does mean that each morning I’m dreaming of cinnamon dulce lattes! One of these days I need to give myself an extra 10 minutes to drive to Starbucks and get one before work. Although, they have skinny peppermint mochas now too. Dangerous!

icedcinnamondolcelatte

Nom Nom

I hate pricey coffee. It’s just coffee!! 🙂 But it tastes so good and definitely feels like a treat. I complete random surveys online that accumulate “money” that I can then redeem for various magazines and discounts. I just got enough for a $50 Starbucks card – which means I have 10 venti coffees in my happy future!

I saw this funny picture on Facebook yesterday:

Shut up and be sad

shut up, eat your lettuce, and be sad? Bwahaha!

Aren’t diets tricky things? I actually think people don’t like hearing about diets because so often people just complain that they aren’t working as they shove a doughnut into their mouth. But I’ve found once you’ve been successful, just about everyone wants to hear everything about your diet. What are you doing? How much did you lose? How long did it take? Etc… We size up the answers and then, usually, make a split-second decision on whether or not we think the diet would work for us. Most of the time, we tell ourselves it won’t and move on.

When my friend Jeff told me about Ideal Protein and how he lost 50lbs in 8 weeks, I was so excited because I didn’t have any plan on what to do for a wedding diet. His info came at the perfect time for me. My only complaint was that he should have told me earlier so we could have done the first weeks together. Misery loves supportive company!

In the end, the trick to most any diet is … time. You need to stick with it for enough time and THEN have a game plan so the hard-fought losses don’t come flying back on the second you’re done. I’m soooo close to 40lbs now that I am already reading up on the next phase of the diet. It’s exciting to move towards the next piece but terrifying that I’ll gain back 20 pounds before the New Year.

So… you take it one day, one minute, one decision at a time. And this gal is proud to say she resisted Halloween candy completely this year – despite the huge box of candy bars sitting in our kitchen due to the lack of trick-or-treaters. 🙂

And dinners continue to be protein and approved veggies:

011

Last night we had parmesan crusted chicken and then cooked up broccoli, peppers, green onion, and celery. Pretty tasty.

Keep your eye on the ball folks – whether it’s trekking through a bad week at work, trying to master a goal, or sticking to your gym schedule. Take it one day at a time and be good to yourself for each time you make a decision towards better health!

4 Responses

  1. Funny picture and saying.
    I saw the following on Facebook and thought it was a novel way to think of chocolate 🙂
    Posted by Energy Bits: “Chocolate comes from cocoa, which is a tree. That makes it a plant. Chocolate is a salad.”

  2. I do the survey thing, too! Only I redeem mine for a Kohl’s gift card. I save the gift card when I’ve hit a milestone or NSV and then I use it. 😉

  3. You’ll get to 40 in no time! I’m so impressed!

  4. mmmm starbucks is just SO GOOD!!! and love the sounds of that chicken!

Leave a Reply

