• Shop Amazon

That Extra Delightful Hour

It’s your last day to sign up for a chance to win a FREE 8×10″ canvas print from Easy Canvas Prints!

Happy Daylight Savings time! Has everyone adjusted? I spent the extra hour sleeping in and the rest of the day felt kinda off – with me always thinking it was later than it really was. But – that’s great to have the extra time isn’t it? I love it when we shift back… but not such a fan of losing the hour of sleep in the Spring. I woke up this morning at 4:30, which would have been usual time without the switch, so that tells me I’m officially caught back up on sleep from my late night deployment escapades last Tuesday. Yes – I’m old and it takes me a week to recover. πŸ™‚

The following pictures were found on my camera this morning. Ben is entering a chili cook-off at work and located a “man chili” recipe online and did all the prep and cooking himself. He looks so proud of himself. It’s kinda adorable. What’s fun too is that I know even a year ago he probably wouldn’t have been confident enough to make a more complex recipe like this, so I was impressed he chose it and tackled it on his own. However, I can see a few embellishments he added along the way…

003

Like a pound of bacon? I’m fairly certain this was an add-on.

010

004

It’s unclear if this was consumed while making the chili or added to the chili!

008

007

Looks like a boatload of spices and some brown sugar. I’ve never used brown sugar in a chili recipe!

006

Veggies!!! Can’t believe he added any. That’s progress folks!! πŸ™‚

005

Actually, the chili looks pretty impressive. I can smell a faint whiff of beer so I’m guessing the beer was added in. Maybe it’s the beer and bacon that makes it “man” chili??

009

I always get a chuckle when I find pictures mysteriously appear on my camera. Kinda like the time there was a flexing bicep and nothing else. Bwahaha. I’ll let you all know how Ben’s entry does at work today. This is real progress for him – even a short year ago he’d have either brought nothing to work or just show up with a box of store-bought cookies.

Questions of the day:

What did you do with your extra hour?

Ever had chili with bacon and beer in it??

12 Responses

  1. It looks yummy! I’ve never had beer in my chili, but it’s probably good. πŸ™‚

  2. My hubby entered his first ever chili cookoff at his work last year and won first place. His co-workers asked him to make his famous chili this year for another co-workers retirement party. There was nothing that could wipe that smile off his face. He is definitely not the cook in our household. His idea of cooking dinner is soup (from a can) and grilled cheese. The chili is the bomb if I must say so myself. My whole house smelled like chili for the entire night. The next day his daughter was told by a schoolmate that she smelled like chili. LOL

  3. Beer chili is awesome! Alton Brown has my favorite chili recipe (because it has no beans) and it uses beer. One for the chili and one for the cook!

    • NO kidding? I wonder if it is similar to the recipe Ben used although his did have beans. Ben said he DID drink a beer while adding beer to the chili. Maybe that’s why he had fun making it? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

