• Shop Amazon

Week 18 Weigh-In

Hello and greetings on a brisk Fall Sunday afternoon! Ben and I tackled our weekly grocery shopping early and let me tell you – it’s fantastic beating the Sunday crowds by going early in the day. Hopefully we can keep that up each week (although I love sleeping in on Sundays!).

I wasn’t expecting much at this week’s weigh-in because of my carb splurge when we were in La Crosse. Good thing I set my expectations low because when we got back from our vacation, I was up almost 3 pounds and spent the rest of the week taking most of that off.

Week 18

Weight gained: .8#

Total lost: 35#

The numbers this week aren’t great and they really haven’t been for a while now. Looking at my handy-dandy Excel spreadsheet, I’ve only lost about 3# in the last 6 weeks. Not really acceptable given the cost of being on the Ideal Protein diet along with the fact that the longer I’m on a carb-restricted diet, the more my hair is going to fall out. I need to buckle down, get re-focused, and concentrate on hitting my goal so I can get off this.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do after this. I’m a bit worried about gaining some of the weight back and I’d honestly like to lose more than just 40# (although I’d be mighty pleased hitting that goal this year!). So we’ll see where I am when I hit 40 and then go from there. Bottom line, I need to get back on track.

I’m also going through round 3 of kidney stones. Funny how I went 31 years without any and despite drinking more than ever before, I’ve had them 3 times in the last 18 months. Sheesh. While I thought I was doing a good job on fluids, clearly I’m not, so I think my goal for this week is to get back to keeping track of how much water I’m drinking every day. Back to the basics folks! The good thing is that I’m experienced (ha) with the kidney stones symptoms now and am able to get going pushing fluids right away. Still painful but nothing like what I experienced the first time I had them.

Pumpkins are on major sales right now and if you’re looking for more delicious ways to eat pumpkin, check out the pumpkin smoothie recipe below. I’m a huge pumpkin fan and am definitely looking forward to be eating it again!! Maybe I should buy some pie pumpkins now and freeze them?!

eat that pumpkin

 

In sports news, my Cardinals are advancing to the World Series!! Hip-Hip-Hurray! I’m majorly excited and plan on spending game one over watching with my Dad. Should be a good time. Now if we could just get the Packers a win today, the weekend will have been perfect. šŸ™‚

Have a great rest of your weekend!

3 Responses

  1. Maybe you should start transitioning to a different program if you are stalled out on the current one? Might be a good time to try that out. Plateaus stink.

    • I’ve been thinking about it. Trouble is, I haven’t been 100% “on plan” and I’m wondering if that’s the problem more than the actual diet. Thinking I need to get back to doing it correctly, see if that makes a difference first, and then bail if not. Plateaus definitely stink!!

  2. Good luck with whatever you decide to do. Those last 5-10 lbs. are so hard to lose.

Leave a Reply

