• Shop Amazon

Making Salsa

Brrr my friends! Ever since the marathon on Sunday, my lips have been chapped and I’ve been feeling very cold and worn-out. Yesterday I cracked and told Ben to turn on the heat. I just couldn’t take shivering under a pile of blankets anymore! Now I’m starting to feel a little better but still super tired.

I was going to meet up with a friend for dinner tonight so the plan last night was to tackle homework, writing my paper, and other misc stuff. Well she cancelled due to changing work schedules and I did a bit of homework and then plopped on a chair to watch some TV and just relax. I’ve been so overwhelmed with work lately and I can tell the stress is wearing on me. Sure enough, I wasn’t 5 minutes into my show when I completely conked out!

We had a mountain of tomatoes from the garden with no plan on what to do with them. Finally, we purchased some BPA-free freezer containers and just tossed the tomatoes – skins and all – in the ninja and blended away. Now we have 18 cups of organic tomato puree in the freezer – perfect for making sauces or throwing into soups!

001

We went back and forth a bit on this. My mom spent ALL DAY boiling, peeling, and canning her tomatoes. I just didn’t have the time to do that so I went for quick and easy. I’ll let you know how it turns out once we use them.

There was also another salsa-making attempt:

005

006

We tossed in tomatoes, Anaheim peppers, jalapeno, onion, cilantro, vinegar, lime juice, and salt

Ben is a happy guy when we’re using garden produce for food he likes!

003

We didn’t cook the salsa – this is completely raw. It definitely needed to be refrigerated overnight for the flavors to come out and properly combine. We learned from the last batch that the salt and vinegar are essential – our tomatoes were really sweet!!

003

Ben is headed to Madison again today so I’ll be spending the evening writing my paper (due tomorrow) and trying not to get into any trouble. It’s too bad work has been so miserable these last 3 weeks because honestly, so far both of my classes this semester aren’t bad. I would like to have more time to (ahem) actually read the textbooks and learn a bit more. Oh well, maybe next week things will be better?

Alrighty, off to work. Have a marvelous day!

2 Responses

  1. That salsa looks amazing Ali!

  2. Holy cow that salsa looks so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

