• Shop Amazon

Pound the alarm

mornings

There’s a clearly defined morning system that Ben and I have unconsciously worked out so that we’re both ready to head out the door at the same time each morning.

5:30 – alarm goes off, nothing happens. This is my “you need to get up soon” reminder

5:40 – I get out of bed, use the bathroom, get dressed, head downstairs, and turn on the radio

5:50 – Ben gets out of bed, takes a shower while I cut up my lunchtime veggies

6:05 – Ben comes downstairs and puts his shoes on

6:10 – Lunches (and breakfasts) are packed and ready to go

6:15 – Turn off radio and head to work

This plan is foolproof and works magificently – except for mornings like today where I didn’t hear my 5:30 alarm and so when the “5:40” alarm went off I leaped from the bed in shock because I was running 10 minutes behind.

I have a little pile on the table filled with my new textbooks and various “school supplies” all ready for the new semester. It feels like it’s been ages since I’ve talked about classes and yet here we are again! This semester I’m taking one class completely online so it will be interesting to see how that works. I’m on my last year of classes (2 in the fall and 2 in the spring) and it will all wrap up 3 weeks before my wedding. It’s going to be crazy but I think I’ll enjoy having it all behind me rather than delay and have to pick up more classes next fall.

Ben grilled pork chops last night. Oddly enough, until a few weeks ago we really hadn’t ever eaten pork. I’m not sure why – grilled boneless chops are delicious and pretty inexpensive. I keep telling Ben one of these days we’re going to take the plunge and switch to organic meat… maybe after the wedding when there’s more than pennies rolling around in our pockets. 🙂

We served the chops with sauteed zucchini and yellow squash from the garden and a bit of broccoli thrown in.

008

We *may* have found a photographer. I was looking in vain for a cheap one and gave up. So we’re going with someone who seems to have the going rate in the area and includes all the photo rights and an engagement session. I’m definitely feeling the emotional rollercoaster of wedding planning though.

Tonight we’re heading over to see one of my friend’s new house renovations. They have been working all summer to build an art room and re-do their kitchen and are hosting an open house tonight for people to come and see. I can’t wait! Maybe we’ll get some fun ideas for when we update our kitchen.

Happy Thursday – tomorrow’s almost here!

6 Responses

  1. Sounds like you will be busy before your wedding with classes. I am due in a little more a month with my first kid and somehow thought it would be a good idea to take 5 classes….. yeah, I’m trying to get ahead but all I want to do is sleep!

    • Holy cow! FIVE classes with a baby due soon? Yes, get everything done now that you can.

      Oh and congratulations on your little one! Do you know if it’s a boy or girl and have you picked out baby names? I always loved shopping for baby clothes for co-workers. Baby clothes are sooo adorable 🙂

  2. Going back to when you talked about dresses – you are not alone in not wearing dresses or skirts most of the time. Neither am I. But I do wear shorts (not short shorts, though). I just don’t have a very good shape and of course I don’t even own a bathing suit. Good luck with the dress shopping. You will know when you find the right one as soon as you put it on – it just clicks. My daughter just got married a couple months ago & I had to go looking for a dress for this special occasion. After trying on 6 or 7 dresses the next dress felt right the moment I put it on. Keep looking and trying on!

Leave a Reply

