• Shop Amazon

The Final Cake Tasting

It’s official – my stomach is unhappy, my heart is racing, and my body is all skittery after my several days of cake-eating indulgence. Whoa boy, good thing it’s all over today and I can hop back onto the weight loss train.

I’m expecting about 3# higher at weigh-in on Friday and we’ll see. I’m a bit scared to even hop on the scale at this point. I will say there’s a REASON why this program has 4 stages – with the idea being to gradually ease your body back into more carb consumption. So this plunging head-first into refined flour and white sugar is definitely noticeable. Scary how much you notice the reaction only when you’ve been away from the bad stuff for an extended period of time!

Last night we went to our last cake tasting event. This one wasn’t in a group setting – we picked 5 flavors and sat in the bakery by ourselves while we sampled at our leisure. Plus side: more relaxed, time with the baker, and we got bigger pieces to sample. Down side: had to pay for the samples and there were less flavors to choose from (at $5/flavor, you don’t want to go overboard!)

Our 5 were all iced in buttercream with the flavor written on the top:

001

White chocolate raspberry, triple vanilla creme brulle, carrot rum, double chocolate caramel truffle, and chocolate pecan toffee cream.

In order to make those little cakes, the baker put substantially more filling in compared with what we sampled at the expo. The result was pretty terrible – and I can’t believe I’m saying that! If you look at the picture below, you can see the ratio of filling to cake. It ended up being difficult to get a decent bite with frosting, cake, and filling in. Plus, because there was so much filling, it ended up being a large clump that didn’t “blend” with the cake. If you follow my train of thought, I was looking for an equally balanced cake – with the frosting, cake, and filling all working together to compliment each other.

003

When we talked options with the baker, she mentioned her favorite flavor was the blackberry lemon, so we purchased a mini cake in that flavor too to try.

004

Same story, different flavor. Major bummer because they were the cheaper of the two places as well.

We stopped at Qdoba for naked burritos on the way home. No rice or beans, but they charge you an extra $1.59 for a single scoop of veggies.

002

Still delicious and worth the extra money though.

So we know which baker we’re going with and that one of the two flavors will be carrot cake. Now I just need to decide between the white almond strawberry or the buttermilk. Luckily, I have time to decide! πŸ™‚

And today I’m back on my diet full-force. Hoping I can work these carbs out of my system over the next few days and then be back to my 1-3 pound weight loss /week very soon.

Happy hump day!

9 Responses

  1. That is waaaaay too much filling!! There is no way I would eat that. I make cakes as a side job. I have to taste frosting and fillings for every cake so it’s really the last thing I want to do. But regardless, that’s over the top too much.

    • That sounds like an amazing job but I can understand how you’d get sick of it after a while. Reminds me of when I’d get sick just smelling the doughnuts bake in a bakery I used to clean in high school. Was awesome the first week and then was nasty. Glad I’m not the only one who thinks the filling was over the top!

  2. Oh jeez, all I could think reading this post is “I wonder if I could get someone to make me a mini cake with “too much filling”?” My dream cake would be tons of filling and tons of icing with just a sprinkle of cake crumbs πŸ™‚

    My wedding cake was lemon and blackberry (with the proper ratio of filling-cake for the guests of course!)

    • Oh Emily – you’re my kind of gal. Previous to this experience I didn’t think too much filling was ever possible. I think it was the consistency – think hardened butter – if it had been creamy and light I would have been all over it!

  3. You could just serve frosting shots for the wedding guests πŸ˜€ I like the idea of the white almond strawberry – that sounds delicious!

  4. we are doing almond raspberry. we definitely didn’t have all of those crazy flavor choices though!

  5. Newly engaged and looking forward to all the food and cake testing!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

