• Shop Amazon

Caffeine Headache

Wowzers! I woke up this morning with a massive headache. It’s in that area where I get caffeine headaches. Good luck weaning this girl off her morning java! Last week when I was home, I drank more coffee than usual as well as a ton of crystal light (full of aspartame, but I can’t stop! send help!). I didn’t realize at the time that the crystal light also had caffeine. Oops. So I’m sure yesterday was a shock to my system when I went back to the usual large cup of coffee and loads of plain water. Eech.

Since the parents were in Rochester yesterday taking Matt to his bi-annual checkup at Mayo, Alex was man of the house. I picked him up after work and we went to Longhorn Steakhouse for dinner. Alex devoured all the hot honey wheat bread in impressive fashion and then promptly devoured his hamburger.

002

Normally I get the parmesan crusted chicken (which I LOVE) when I go there, but I’m pretty sure the sodium and carbs on that would not be diet-approved. Instead I tried the sierra chicken – grilled chicken breasts with a tomato basil salsa…

003

TONS of garlic – which seemed like a plus – but the entire dish was horrible. The chicken was tender and juicy but the glaze and topping were horrid. I had to choke it down. I can’t remember the last time I had a dish that I honestly didn’t want to finish. Major bummer. Oh well – you win some and lose some.

I pulled another handful of beans out of the garden. Why do fresh beans right off the bush seem so much better than anything else? πŸ™‚ I also picked the first pepper. I was given this plant by a friend and I’m giving him this token pepper to learn what kind it is, when I’m supposed to pick it, and exactly how spicy it is. This girl can’t take super-hot!

004

Not much else to report. I’m doing a rain dance in the hopes we’ll actually get some rain. It was supposed to rain last night but we only had overcast skies and a slight sprinkle. The lawn needs it!

Off to work – trying to get into the office early to tackle the pile of stuff that accumulated over vacation!

 

5 Responses

  1. What a shame that dish wasn’t good. It sure does look good.
    As for rain… no, please, no more rain. I know you love your garden but…can’t you use a hose πŸ˜‰

  2. I didn’t realize that crystal light had caffeine!! That explains a lot…

    • Not all of them do. The regular and raspberry lemonades are fine. He bought the “energy” pack which had vitamins and whatever stuff… blah blah and caffeine. Silly me just didn’t connect the dots!

  3. oh my…i didn’t even like coffee until last year but now i am so addicted!!

Leave a Reply

