• Shop Amazon

Summer Family Cookouts

Since I had my two beautiful garden zucchini, I needed to make something with them.

004

Would you believe I’m just NOW discovering Ben doesn’t like zucchini? whomp whomp! I have a feeling this girl is going to have trouble keeping up with what’s growing in the garden alone! Luckily, Ben and I decided to host a family cookout and what better use for zucchini than chocolate cake?

I called Mom and got the famed recipe our good neighbor gave to us the first year we had our massive garden in the country – years and years ago. I’ll admit, it’s torture smelling fresh buttermilk, cinnamon, cloves, and vanilla knowing you won’t be able to eat any of it!

027

 

Delicious goodness – although I can safely say I’ve never wanted to eat raw zucchini cake batter. Something about uncooked zucchini doesn’t do it for me. 🙂

028

 

Topped with chocolate chips, nuts, and a sprinkling of sugar!

029

 

It made the house smell amazing and was done just as the families were arriving for our summer cookout.

Before Ben met me he used to host a cookout once a year around his birthday. Last summer when he was living with me in my apartment, there was no way we could pull anything together. However we were determined to get our families together and have a summer feast. We prepped hamburgers and bratwurst – along with toppings – and our families brought fruit, salads, spiced nuts, Door County cherries, and cheesecake bars.

033

 

All the food was great – mom made one salad loaded with broccoli sprouts, peppers, and cucumbers that I could eat. I had to pass on the desserts and fruit though. I couldn’t understand why the cheesecake bars were being eaten so much faster than my zucchini cake until I questioned Mom and Matt. They explained that since I offered to let them take the rest home with them, they figured they could eat it later. LOL I guess there’s sound logic to that! It worked out well – I borrowed Mom’s 13×9 pan to make the cake and then she took the leftovers home so they weren’t around tormenting me.

It was pouring rain so our plan to spill into the deck for seating didn’t work. Instead we huddled around the kitchen table and ate there. Everyone had a good time and we finally had to kick people out at 10pm!

034

 

Ben’s still battling some throat irritation / cough and since today is his last day of vacation, I’m hoping he feels well enough to get cranking on some wedding stuff. Plus – we have a trip back to check out the ceremony site where we’ll be getting married.

Have a great day!

 

5 Responses

  1. That looks so yummy!

  2. That’s a shame that you can’t eat all of that goodness..it looks amazing!

  3. I would eat the raw batter – I love any raw dough (other than bread)

Leave a Reply

