• Shop Amazon

The First Results!

Oh the week of total craaaaayziness continues. Thank goodness for vacation next week – this girl definitely needs it! My mind is having to simultaneously thinking about tons of things and juggle meetings and other people’s schedules to get things wrapped up in a somewhat neat bow before I close the laptop on work.

With crazy days – a girl needs to indulge:

001

Ok, so maybe that was Ben’s plate of food! 🙂 I have no idea what all those carbs would do to me having been almost 6 weeks without any!!

I went with a taco salad – no sour cream or cheese please…

002

And it came with cheese. Luckily it was easy to scrape off, but I’d be lying if I didn’t thoroughly enjoy any errant cheesy bits left behind. 🙂

After unwinding with a dinner out, we checked the status of the garden. I’m still seeing crazy growth and totally realize I way overplanted for such a tiny garden area.

018

You can see the zucchini have grown so big and high that they have completely filled in the empty part of the neighboring bed that was supposed to host snap peas. Good thing I didn’t plant any cause I have no idea where they would be able to grow!

Tons and tons of very teeny tiny zucchini starting to grow. I have a feeling we’ll be eating and donating zucchini for weeks very soon.

022

The lone cantaloupe is managing to hold its own and has quite a few flowers. I had assumed it would eventually be choked out by the other plants but it’s gently winding its way up the side of the fence and still is there.

021

I was inspecting some of the bean plants, flipped one over – and spotted a GENUINE green bean! HURRAY! I officially grew something edible in my garden! *proud moment*

I graciously allowed Ben the first bean:

020

As excited as I was, I did some more inspecting and found a few more that were even bigger. Where did they come from!?

023

We’re having Ben’s and my family over for a cookout on Sunday and I’m hoping I have enough beans that I can cook up as a tasty side. Would be fun to have something from the garden.

Oh – and if anyone is in the area and wants cilantro – I have a ridiculously tall plant. I’m thinking of hacking half of it off. Heck, I don’t really even like cilantro. 🙂

019

Looks like a cooler morning, time to get shoving off to the office. Fingers crossed this day will allow for a bit more breathing room!

Tomorrow is Friday!

 

7 Responses

  1. Your beans look great! I wanted to do peas or beans this year and for whatever reason decided not to. Next year for sure. Yours look delicious.

  2. Yay for harvesting! It’s funny, I can’t stand cilantro, but love love the coriander seeds!

    I am trying to get caught up on blogs. I use theoldreader and it has been down for the last couple days so I haven’t had any feeds!

  3. I’m jealous of your garden. Ted JUST put the supports around our tomato plants a couple of days ago. They are growing so slowly due to too much rain.

    • I’m jealous of the rain, if we hadn’t gotten a ton today I’m not sure what we would have done. I think the lawn is more brown than green right now!

      How is the irrigation around the plants? I’ve seen some people dig tiny trenches with a trowel around the plant to help draw some of the water away if there is too much.

  4. Missed not reading a post from you today. How was your weigh in today? Did you hit 20 lbs. lost or more? You are doing so well with how and what you eat. Keep it up and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

