• Shop Amazon

Mid-July

Happy July 15th everyone!

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that we’re halfway through July. I’m loving these weeks of nothing to do. Of course, I have a long to-do list that I should be doing, but I’m procrastinating and just enjoying the nice days. We’re in the middle of another heat / humidity wave but the evenings have been lovely. I have to tote water to my garden each night but I honestly don’t mind it. I’m loving tending to my veggies (way overdue on a garden post – soon I promise!) and it’s cool and comfortable to lug the water later at night.

We were over at my parents for dinner this weekend and Mom made a fabulous spread of food. Burgers, fruit, cheezy potatoes – with ample broccoli and mushrooms for me!

012

I didn’t take a picture but my plate looked almost identical to this one:

013

I can pass on cheezy potatoes – I’m just really thankful Mom didn’t make another one of her blueberry pies! 🙂

Sunday morning lunch was the Ideal Protein tomato basil pasta with veggies. I wouldn’t say it’s the best pasta I’ve ever had (shocking 🙂 ) but after 4 weeks of no pasta at all, it’s a welcome change

007

I also learned that of the 8oz of protein you are allowed to eat at dinner, many people split that and do a smaller portion of meat for lunch and then have the rest at dinner. Sounded good to me so I cooked up some extra lean beef and mushrooms, cooked the pasta, and tossed it with some Walden Farms Italian dressing. I’m not a fan of the WF products for the most part, but this tastes pretty good on top of pasta.

005

For inquiring minds, here’s my stash of dinner vitamins:
009

We’ve got a multi, 2 calcium, potassium, fish oil, biotin, and B12. For lunch I take another multi along with vitamin D.

My mysterious purple flowers are still growing and blooming! They are taking up a large chunk of my tiny flower bed. Definitely need to figure out how/what to divide and transplant for next year!

008

Other than the usual stuff, nothing too major planned for this week. I picked up turnips, rutabaga, and jicama from the store and I’m going to roast them into “fries” and see what we like best. All new veggies for both of us – I’m excited to try them!! 🙂

Next Sunday we’re going to the local Wedding Show. Hoping to get some good ideas and connect with some vendors to begin planning some of those big pieces we need: photographer, florist, bakery, etc… Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

