• Shop Amazon

Shhhhh: A Confession

Shhh, get close to the computer screen everyone. I’m whispering so my Ideal Protein coach doesn’t overhear…

I cheated on my diet!

002

As you know, I’m on the 4th week of my diet and am trying to lose some weight I gained a couple of years ago through a round of nasty steroid meds. I needed to buckle down and get cracking so I can wedding dress shop this Fall. Anyways, this diet is very low-carb and low-fat. In fact, fat is pretty much discouraged except for 2t of approved oils each day.

So I’ve gotten used to(??) my baggie of raw cauliflower or broccoli at lunch and slugging down my protein shakes using water instead of milk. Unlike Atkins which allows dairy, IP does not – with the exception of a measly ounce of SKIM milk each day. My coach explained: you want to remove the fat from your body, so why would you want to eat fat and put it back in??

Now, I’m not afraid of fats and feel they play a critical part of a balanced diet. I also am not so disillusioned to think this is a super healthy and fabulous long-term weight management plan. I’m not eating several food groups and heavily supplementing. So the plan was to be 100% true to the diet and get this done as soon as possible.

A typical dinner for me would look something like this:

013

lean protein and 2 cups of approved veggies

Now, in theory, once you enter ketosis you aren’t supposed to be hungry and actually get a lovely rush of energy. This typically happens within 3-4 days of starting the diet but for some can take up to a week. Well I’m on week 4 and I’m still hungrier than I’d like. One day I came home and was wondering how the wood on the kitchen cabinets would taste…

Knowing that adding carbs would throw everything out of whack, I turned to fats instead. I added a little butter to my vegetables (wow was that a treat after weeks of eating everything plain!) and last night when Ben finished his last piece of birthday pie and left the whipped cream out on the table, I flipped the can around to check the carb counts and added a little whip to my evening decaf.

In a word: Heaven

Delicious, creamy – I never have allotted milk left for an evening cup so I’m drinking it plain and for a girl who almost drowns her coffee in half and half, it’s been hard to slug down and enjoy.

Oh, and I’m already feeling better. Much better. The hunger isn’t clawing at me the way it was before and I’m feeling more even with less blood sugar swings. I’ll monitor my weight loss to see if it’s having an adverse effect but, for now, the fat is my friend.

Now I’m not saying this to gloat about how I can’t stick to a strict diet for more than 3 weeks without cheating but more as a reminder that every diet doesn’t work for everyone exactly as-is. I’m not saying to adjust a diet because you have to have your diet coke or absolutely need cream in your coffee – I’m saying make sure you’re getting the nutrition that your body needs. Be mindful. Don’t use it as an excuse but also take care of yourself. I knew constant chewing at my stomach wasn’t a good thing and with just a little extra fat, I’m feeling like a new person.

We caught rabbit #9 – Mr Sleepy – the weekend of all the wedding chaos.

010

I think there was a little too much chaos, a little too much heat, and a bit too much going on. We’re not sure when he was caught or how long he was in the cage but when we let him loose, he just sat on the gravel.

011

Ben grabbed some gloves and moved him into a shady spot in tall grass. We watched him slowly scamper away so we knew he’d be OK. It’s been hot and muggy lately. I’m glad he had ample carrots in the cage and was in the shade to start with!

I’m also seeing some beautiful summer sunsets. I miss living further North and seeing the Northern Lights. They were such a beautiful sight!

004

6 Responses

  1. Oh girl…if that’s as much as you cheat you’re going to do wonderfully on the diet! That does sound pretty good though 🙂

  2. I’d say go ahead with the cream. Your body obviously really wanted the fat! I could never do no dairy. You would not want to be around me LOL!

    • I’m not exactly a ray of sunshine right now either. BUT I will admit that I notice my stomach isn’t a fan when I eat dairy if I haven’t for a while – making me wonder if I have some kind of intolerance.

  3. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

Leave a Reply

