• Shop Amazon

The Rabbit Front

It’s Friday for many of you but Wednesday for me. I have a feeling it’s going to be a long day at work. Since it’s been a while since I’ve reported on our rabbit-catching extravaganza, I thought I’d do a quick recap of where things are.

Rabbits #1 & #2 were caught within hours of each other:

006

3 days later… we caught #3 & #4 (also on the same day!)

004

We’re learning that it takes about 3-5 days after baiting the trap before the smell goes away and we catch a rabbit. It’s too coincidental that we’d catch the first 4 at the same time unless it had to do with the smell. (Yes, I am smelly – muhahaha!) 😉

#5 – Goliath was captured all on his own

012

He ended up being really wound up when we let him free and smashed in part of the cage. We had to use pliers to bend it back into shape so the side doors would function correctly again. The first rabbits we caught all had to be forcefully evicted from the cages but the last ones have all gently walked out on their own. Much easier for all!!

#6 was caught the day after tons of rain – again strengthening the idea that they need a few days for the grocery store and hand smell to leave the veggies

023

#7 – also caught alone. Before we started baiting, we had seen up to 5 frolicking around the yard at a single time, so we knew there were at least 5. Once we caught 5 and checked the yard, we knew there were at least 2 more. I was hopeful 7 would be the max number. This guy I named Mr Plump because he was absolutely HUGE. I have no idea how he fit into the cage!

012

Mr Plump:

027

The rabbits typically get caught overnight and we see them in the morning. I will then move the cages to a shady area by the house (ok, that’s a lie – I freak out when the rabbit start jumping all around in the cage and make Ben do it!!!). We make sure there is grass under their feet and no direct sunlight so they’ll be OK while we’re gone at work. Then we come home and drop them off in the countryside. Far, far away.

When we saw Mr Plump captured, I noticed another rabbit sniffing by his cage. Mr Sniffer was rabbit #8, caught just a couple days ago.

044

I’ve seen some new rosebush carnage and lily damage and have seen a small guy lurking around. So that means there’s at least one more – but with the amount of chewing, I’m suspecting probably two. Cant figure out where they are coming from! Argh! You would think that they could find tons of stuff to eat this time of year and could leave my prickly roses alone. Not so. But, I’m taking solace in the fact that a whopping EIGHT beasts have been removed from the premises. I’m sure our next door neighbor is greatful because now there are no rabbits in his yard eating his plants.

I am now taking guesses for how many rabbits you think we’ll capture this year. Then we’ll see who comes the closest at the end. Place your guess in the comments.

5 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness!! My guess is 16 🙂

  2. You know there are babies afoot, so I am guessing at least 30 more rabbits!

  3. oh man! I don’t know how you cope. Rabbits reproduce quickly right??? Who knows how many you’ve got running around there!

    • I don’t think anything breeds quite as fast as rabbits do. I’m hoping we’re at least keeping up with the population and removing them as fast as they are being made… All I do know is that if we hadn’t captured those 8, I’m sure there would be a lot more now.

Leave a Reply

