• Shop Amazon

Bridal Showers

Can you believe JULY is already here!?

It’s going to be a short week of work, which alone is fabulous, but the upcoming week of weather looks incredible too. Makes me wish we could take our computers outside while we work. If only. šŸ™‚

My older brother Dan’s wedding is coming up this weekend and that means fun things – like bridal showers. Would you believe this was the first one I’ve ever gone to? Most of my friends either didn’t have formal showers or had them too far away for me to attend. It was so great to be able to attend!

Bridal shower food is pretty spectacular – all “women” food (ha ha). There were all kinds of salads, roll-ups, tiny sandwiches, crackers, cookies, trifle, and punch.

BP1

Plus, an adorable lemon cake with strawberry filling! I love the bow!!!

BP4

I couldn’t eat anything except for a few veggies, but happily sipped some coffee and took part in all of the shower games. I even won a prize for getting the most answers correct about the bride! Couldn’t believe it. šŸ™‚

Here’s mom and me with the lady of honor:

BP2

Having grown up with three brothers, I can’t tell you how excited I am to have a sister. I have many visions of recipe swapping and merriment in our future.

Welcome to the family Sara!! You are going to be a gorgeous bride.

 

012

I haven’t thought too much yet about a shower of my own. Having so few weddings (and showers) that I’ve attended, I have no clue what to do or how to do it. The good thing is I have tons of time before I need to worry about it. However, I hinted to Ben over the weekend that maybe we should think a little bit more about wedding planning – simply because we haven’t done a thing yet past booking the ceremony/reception site. The local Summer wedding show is coming up mid-July and I’m hoping we can find some fun vendors there and solidify a few more plans.

In other news, I’d been hoping, praying, and spraying the lillies in the hopes the rabbits would leave them alone. I watched as 3 big plants FILLED with buds were chewed down to two and then to one… and then each morning would find fewer and fewer buds. The last 3 in the middle of the plant looked promising but this morning I went out to inspect and found they’d been chewed off too.

038

Oh well, there’s always next year!

Do any of you have fun 4th of July plans? When was the last bridal shower you went to?

 

8 Responses

  1. I wish I would have had a vendor show to go to while I was in Pittsburgh. It is have to plan from a distance! Bridal showers are so much fun. That food looks great, and I am impressed at how awesome you’ve been sticking to your diet!

    • I’m hanging in there… so far but to be honest, with the wedding this weekend and then the wedding show, I’m worried. I’m not sure how I am going to be able to pass up tasting all the cake vendors, especially since I’d like to be able to TRY the cake before I pick a vendor. Maybe I’ll have to leave that up to Ben. šŸ˜¦

  2. That’s such a beautiful cake! Enjoy your brother’s wedding!

  3. I have only been to a couple bridal showers. I didn’t have one for my own wedding because I lived so far from my family at the time. That was kind of a bummer.

    John and I would go to all the wedding and bridal shows and score free cake samples. Sometimes we talk about pretending to be engaged and doing that again LOL!

  4. The last bridal shower I went to was my own!!! LOL Have fun this weekend!!!!

Leave a Reply

