• Shop Amazon

Getting a Head Start

Isn’t it funny how the same thing can hit you at different times in your life but only when you are ready to take it in and absorb it does it have any real impact? I’ve seen that quote many times and always liked it but never really thought about applying it. Until now.

With the wedding countdown ticking away, I’ve known for a while that if I want to lose some weight before the big day, I really need to get going now. Today. Ok, tomorrow. But really, tomorrow is not figurative; this is literal. I had mentioned before about a low carb diet one of my friends is on and I am joining in with him. I’m hoping it will be easier with a buddy. I took a couple weeks to think about it and do some research and while I don’t fully agree with every aspect of this particular plan, there’s enough that will work for me that I’m going to give it 100%.

The difference with this and other diets is that I’m doing this rather quietly. I’ll no doubt be blogging about it, but I’m keeping it more or less under wraps from friends and family to see how things go. Ben knows, of course, but I’m just planning on taking the diet seriously but the promotion more relaxed. Just… see how things go.

So the diet is called Ideal Protein. You buy their pre-packaged high protein, low carb food items and follow a strict laid out menu. I like that part a lot. It’s going to be nice not to have to think about what to eat each meal. Not such a fan of all the ingredients, but I’m not planning on this being a multi-year endeavor. Get in, lose the ###, get out.

I actually am a fan of more strict approaches. This is a ketogenic diet which means you really need to be aware of carb intake. No cheating! As I’ve said before, it’s harder to do but I appreciate being fully focused on the task. I want to get this done. Usually this program is done through a clinic – like a chiropractor who walks you through the program, takes your weekly weight and measurements, etc… I don’t have a clinic nearby so I’m doing it remotely from California.

Tomorrow is Day 1, so I’ll email my coach all my weight stats and starting info and then we’ll have scheduled meetings once a week to walk through how I am doing. I really like this one-on-one attention and someone to be accountable to.

I ordered my first packages of food and they arrived. I’m all set to get started! I ordered their chocolate, pina colada, and wildberry yogurt drinks along with their maple oatmeal.

003

There are 7 packets in each box and you use 3 per day. So I’ll be able to have enough to get through more than a week and my friend Jeff has some extra stuff he is mailing me to try as well. I wish they had a variety pack you could buy to try a lot of different stuff out, but I’ll do what I can.

Don’t worry, this won’t become nothing but diet news on here. While I’ll probably post how I’m doing, etc… you’ll still get rabbit updates, garden info, and the usual jazz. Plus, there should be some creative meal planning in the works for any of you low-carb peeps.

Here we go!

Discussion: What diet / approach / etc… were you on that was the most successful for you?

8 Responses

  1. Good luck, I am looking forward to following along on your blog! I think it will be so helpful to have both a coach & a buddy helping you along the way 🙂

  2. Good luck Ali!!! You go girl!

  3. I like diets that incorporate all things in moderation. I know personally for me, that when I deprive myself of one thing, I end up binging on it within a week.

    I am glad that you have other people there to motivate you on the journey! That’s the best way to get it done. Do you get to actually eat other things? I can’t go without eating crunchy foods haha. Fruits or veggies in addition to the yogurt and oatmeal? Or not?

    • I like “all things in moderation” when it comes to daily living. For diets, I almost need to be cruel to be kind. I need to just focus and stick to it. This diet does allow certain non-starchy veggies (hurray for broccoli) but no fruit (boo). Plus, you make your own dinner with beef, fish, chicken, etc… I’ll be posting more details as I progress.

  4. I find that any diet approach will work if you do it and stick with it. It all comes down to some sort of portion/calorie control. When I had a 6 month plateau from hell, I did Nutrisystem because I was so freaking tired of thinking about food that I just wanted someone to tell me what to eat. And it worked. Then I stopped and continued doing what I normally do to lose.

    Good luck and I am interested in your progress! I am one of the few people who actually enjoys protein shakes, I think. I make my own and use them when I am lifting heavier (which I will be soon).

    • Yeah, I’m at the point where I don’t want to think about what to make. Just point me in a general direction and I’m less likely to swerve off plan.

      I’m a creature of habit; I could eat the same thing every day and be OK. I also like protein shakes – especially Jay Robb!

Leave a Reply

