• Shop Amazon

It’s good to move up in the world

Here we are folks, it’s almost Friday! Are you excited?

Thanks a lot for all your insight, comments, and thoughts on wedding color ideas. It’s going to be interesting (?) to see how this all plays out. I purchased some different reception chair decorations so when they come I’ll be able to look and get another feel for what I like. Maybe I just need to pull a color out of a hat! 🙂

However, the really exciting news was yesterday. You could have blown me over with a feather – but I got promoted at work! It’s a bit of a funky promotion because when I switched departments and jobs in Jan of ’12, I was put into a entry/trainee job description even though I was doing the same work as those who were in non-trainee roles. But here I am, almost a year and a half later, and I am now the real deal. No more trainee for me! So I’m pretty excited. In all my 31 years, I’ve never been promoted. Until now.

The timing worked out really well because Ben and I were taking my folks out for dinner to do a little early anniversary celebrating. They are celebrating 34 years on the 17th! We took them out for hibachi

We got a table all to ourselves – awesome!

010

First course: chicken/beef broth with mushrooms and green onions

009

Second course: simple salad

011

The salad is pretty much iceberg lettuce with the shreds of carrots and cabbage but I still am glad they do it. This girl needs to eat more salad!

And then comes the good stuff…

012

They fry up zucchini, onions, and shrimp for an appetizer and then while you’re happily munching away, they cook all the main course meats. They cook the meats up with a HUGE plate of mushrooms and then top everything up with bean sprouts.

Ben and I did the chicken and filet combo and then Mom and Dad picked two completely different items so they could split everything. They ended up with the chicken and filet along with scallops and shrimp. Everyone was happy and stuffed.

015

^ Happy and stuffed

Ben was driving and I was glad he was – this was our view on the way home:

020

021

This is with his wipers on the fastest setting. It was just POURING out! In fact, this entire week has been pretty cold and rainy. I guess it beats 91 and humid but I still wouldn’t mind some sunshine and 75 degrees.

Alex took part in the Torch Run with local law enforcement last night. It wasn’t in town so I didn’t go along but I’m waiting to hear back from the folks on how it was. Hopefully it was only misting or lightly sprinkling where he was!!

Off to work! Make it a great day everyone!

4 Responses

  1. Congrats!

  2. Congratulations on the promotion! Woo Hoo!

  3. Congratulations on your well-deserved promotion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

